The Coldest Winter

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
February 7, 1991

It was the coldest winter ever, and many animals died because of the cold. The porcupines, realizing the situation, decided to group together. This way they covered and protected themselves; but the quills of each one wounded their closest companions even though they shared their heat with each other.

After awhile, they decided to distance themselves one from the other to stop being wounded.

As they did this, they began to die… alone and frozen. So they had to make a choice: either accept the quills of their companions or disappear from the Earth. Wisely, they decided to go back to being together. This way they learned to live with the little wounds that were caused by the close relationship with their companion, but the most important part of it, was the heat that came from the others that enabled them to survive the coldest winter ever.

It was the coldest winter ever, and many animals died because of the cold. The porcupines, realizing the situation, decided to group together. This way they covered and protected themselves; but the quills of each one wounded their closest companions even though they shared their heat with each other.

After awhile, they decided to distance themselves one from the other to stop being wounded.

As they did this, they began to die… alone and frozen. So they had to make a choice: either accept the quills of their companions or disappear from the Earth. Wisely, they decided to go back to being together. This way they learned to live with the little wounds that were caused by the close relationship with their companion, but the most important part of it, was the heat that came from the others that enabled them to survive the coldest winter ever.

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
24 comments
  1. I loved this story thanks for sharing. I have always tried to put my whole heart into being a christian and have suffered many hurts because of itl Thank you for reminding me why it is so important to reach out to others even if it means getting hurt. Sometimes we can self protect ourselves to death making it impossible for the Lord to work through us and touch another with the gospel. If you don’t mind I will be repeating this story to others and sharing the lesson take care and Godbless

    Like

  2. The really tough part is when you decide to blunt your own quills and lose the satisfaction of at least jabbing back. You’re generally still annoying as you poke people, but you create no real wounds. The work is overwhelming at times because you are always growing new quills and many folks assume no responsibility for their pointy parts.

    Like

  3. It never ceases to amaze me that humans would rather die alone than suffer a few scratches!

    Thanks Kenny (BTW, 2:58AM response? Do you sleep?) 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, I sleep. LOL I have the Morning Story and Dilbert set to automatically update at 12:02 AM. I am sleeping very well by then in eastern North Carolina, USA….. The 2:58 AM was a trip into the Kitchen for a big glass of water. Salty dinner caught up with me…… Keep plenty of band-aides on hand for those scratches…. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      Like

  4. Proverb- “Better a rebuke revealed than love concealed”. With the “cold” coming upon America now, we need each other more than ever. Body of Messiah…

    Like

  5. Sometimes I am the prickly one and am thankful for folks who come around me anyhow. I’ll try not to be prickly today. I’d rather be soft and wooly.

    Like

  6. ena said:

    I love that the porcupines had to learn the lesson again. and probably again and again. That is so true of me for sure. I know I pull away, get angry,frustrated when in the pricklies. But the church on earth is not yet perfected, we need to stay together for what we can learn and accomplish in community and the times when we are prickly teach us an important lesson about love. Oh so true.

    Like

  7. Psalms 141:5
    “Let the righteous smite me; it shall be a kindness: and let him reprove me; it shall be an excellent oil, which shall not break my head: for yet my prayer also shall be in their calamities.”

    Like

  8. ronfurg said:

    I just linked your blog to my own wee blog (ronfurg.wordpress.com). I hope that is okay with you. Ron <

    Like

  9. Rejoycin said:

    Wonderful lesson. FYI: Did anyone mention you have it posted twice.

    Like

  10. I think I would prefer the pointy quills instead of the dull spoon my ex used on me.

    Like

  11. This is a very timely story. We need the lesson of these words more now than at any time in recorded history. We MUST stand together as the Body of Christ, regardless of our own ‘carnal feelings’. United we stand—divided we fall. Thank you so much for your blog posts…
    Be blessed
    Stephanie

    Like

    • This is exactly what I wanted to see comments on!!!! Thank you!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      Like

  12. This reminds me of another story…though I cannot give authorship to yours or it:

    two groups of people were given the same feast. Yet they both only had longs spoons to eat it with. The selfish group could not partake for the spoons were too long and they could not feed themselves. The second group however chose to feed each other and were able to enjoy the meal and be filled.

    Cheers.

    Like

  13. Thank you for sharing.. 🙂 Very true and reflective of the impact of our choices. God bless you!

    Like

Leave a comment