Pure Peace

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
March 30, 2003

I was driving home the other day after taking my son to the sheltered workshop where he works part time. The clouds had parted and the newly freed sun was slowly warming the Earth. The radio was playing and Louis Armstrong was singing, “What a Wonderful World.” I was joining in with my scratchy voice. I rounded a curve and saw the distant mountains alight with golden sunshine. It was so beautiful. In that second the music, the light, and the view came together and filled my heart with peace. I felt like I was where I was meant to be. I felt like I was who I wanted to be. I felt like I was the person God called me to be. I drove on letting that moment of pure peace uplift my spirit and thanked God again for my life here.

I have noticed over the years that as I have gotten older and thankfully wiser those moments of pure peace have become more and more frequent. In my quest for peace I used to feel like I was searching for a treasure. In my soul I was scaling mountains, crossing rivers, and traveling long and far to find that elusive peace. What I finally found when I stopped my searching and striving, though, was that I was carrying that peace inside of me all along.

How do you find peace? The answer I feel is to just love. Love God. Love yourself. Love everyone else. Love nature. Love music. Love animals. Love books. Love learning. Love this world all around you. Love life itself. When you love you find that the storms of life can never break you. When you love you find yourself connected to the very energy that created the universe. When you love you find yourself growing ever closer to God today, tomorrow, and forever. Love is what leads you to your true self. Love is what makes peace your permanent companion. May all of your days here be full of love. May all of your days here be full of peace. May all of your days here carry you one step closer to Heaven.

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author so credit can be given

 

5 comments
  1. seeker said:

    We are put on this earth to Love and do God’s work.

  2. But Christ said: “He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal.” (Jn 12:25)

    • To truly love is about being able to let go of self. The language Jesus is using here is about the willingness to lose our attatchments to self for the greater love of God and God’s cosmos. In John, Jesus also says, “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another as I have loved you.” (Paraphrase from John 13:34) and elsewhere Jesus reminds us, He said to him, ‘ “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.” This is the greatest and first commandment. And a second is like it: “You shall love your neighbour as yourself.”’ (Matthew 22:37-39) How are we to love our neighbor if we hate ourself?

  3. I so look forward to reading your blog. You keep up the good work. We all need your little quotes to bring each of us to the important things in life. Thank you once again.

Leave a Reply

