What Can I Do To Help

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
February 5, 2005

I helped a lady today. I saw her get up from where she was sitting and struggle to walk. She was heading towards the supermarket where I was with my trolley and my youngest son. Seeing her made me stop. It made me realize how grateful I am to have my mobility and health.

Seeing her struggle to walk I wanted to help but didn’t know how. What can I do? I thought. I had no idea, so I asked her. I went up to her and said ‘Can I help you in any way?. Her whole face lit up. Someone cared. She asked me if I could get her a trolley and bring it to her which I did and she was ever so grateful. Couldn’t stop thanking me.

I wanted to do more and would have done her whole shop for her if I could have. So all I could do was to tell her how many of us take our mobility and health for granted and don’t realize how good we have it until we see another who isn’t quite as fortunate. And I thanked her. Telling her it was the least I could do (get her trolley).

I walked away thinking about how many others would have seen her yet did nothing. I thought about the me a few years ago who would have done the exact same thing. Nothing! Why? I would have been too afraid to ask and offer help. Worried about what she would think or say and at the very bottom of it all, I would have thought she was capable on her own. But what I have learned is that people want to be helped. People need to be helped and people appreciate being helped.  Stop and ask yourselves ‘what can I do to help?

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given

 

 

8 comments
  1. Well done! And very true. Having said that: I offered my help once to a lady in a wheelchair and she got really upset about it, almost angry and accused me of thinking she is not capable of looking after herself just because she is in a wheelchair… Now… Ions of my best friend is paralysed after she had a skiing accident and I know better than thinking someone is not capable of doing stuff just because of the wheels. I guess in this case she must have been really frustrated. A reaction like this though can put people off from offering. Maybe simply because they got the impression that it is inappropriate…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was so wonderful! People do need help, so don’t be afraid to help! On my blog and with another good blog friend of mine, we are doing a PAY IT FORWARD campaign this year and are heading out into the world doing good deeds and encouraging others to do the same! If you get the chance, stop on over and read all about it, printout our good deeds list to help you keep track of your good deeds, and then go make someone happy today! PAY IT FORWARD my friend! http://www.nikitaland.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great post, filled with biblical teaching… As Christians, if we are not filled with the Spirit (Ephesians 5:18-20), it is because we have unconfessed sins, or because Christ is not first and foremost at the center of our heart, mind, and soul… I was sleeping myself for 7+ years, after God graced me with salvation at the age of 54 (Praise God for His longsuffering in my life !!)… God woke me up to the fact He wasn’t first in my life, by taking away His peace, and His joy that are only at their fullest, when Christ’s joy remains in us (John 15:11)…

    I urge every Christian reader who has lost that initial fullness of the Holy Spirit at their salvation…to spend the time reading the teaching of REV. C.H. Spurgeon from 1859, titled…Grieving the Holy Spirit”… It woke up this sleepy Christian, and from that day on (Praise the Lord) I now understand what Paul urges us, when he tells the Ephesians (and us) to be “filled with the Spirit”…

    Blessings in Christ, bruce

    P.S. Please take the time to read this !! http://www.spurgeon.org/sermons/0278.htm

    Like

  4. marcia said:

    ‘What can I do to help,” such simple words, and most of the time all it takes to encourage someone, even those who may not struggle with physical impairments but broken hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

