Eraser

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert

Pencil: I’m sorry.

Eraser: For what?

Pencil: I’m sorry, you get hurt because of me. Whenever I make a mistake, you’re always there to erase it. But as you make my mistakes vanish, you lose a part of yourself and get smaller and smaller each time.

Eraser: That’s true, but I don’t really mind. You see, I was made to do this, I was made to help you whenever you do something wrong, even though one day I know I’ll be gone. I’m actually happy with my job. So please, stop worrying, I will not be happy if I see you sad.

Reflection:
“Our Parents are just like the eraser, and we are the pencil. They’re always there for their children, cleaning up their mistakes. Sometimes along the way they get hurt and become smaller (older and eventually pass on).

Moral:
Take care of your Parents, treat them with kindness and most importantly love them.

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
11 comments
  1. smikg said:

    What a lovely story 🙂 So bittersweet

  2. dbp49 said:

    I’m afraid I have to be repetitious here, but that is simply beautiful. 🙂

  3. I think I must have made some pretty deep mistakes along the way – my parents left countless pieces of themselves all around me! Great story!

  4. Yes, yes, yes. I still miss my parents so much! They have both been gone for six years now. This is a wonderful post.

  5. I never thought of myself as an eraser before, but…in this context, I’m glad to embrace the imagery! A clever and important moral to the story. Thank you, Kenny!

Leave a Reply

