Everything’s A Risk

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
January 5, 2015

To laugh is to risk appearing a fool.
To weep is to risk appearing sentimental.
To love is to risk not being loved in return.
To live is to risk dying.
To hope is to risk despair.
To try is to risk failure.
But risks must be taken because the greatest hazard in life is to
risk nothing.
The person who risks nothing, does nothing, has nothing, is nothing.
He may avoid suffering and sorrow, but he simply cannot learn, feel,
change, grow, love, live.
Chained by his own fears, he is a slave.  He has forfeited freedom.
Only a person who risks is free!

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
7 comments
  1. atimetoshare said:

    I read this poem when i returned to college at 44 years old. It inspired me then and again today. Thanks.

  2. summed up in that song ‘The Rose’

  3. dbp49 said:

    Perfect timing. On my blog lately I’ve been publishing a continuing story that I’m writing in poem/prose form, and as fate would have it yesterday I got my first shall we say less than pleasant comment about my story. It seems someone had taken offense at what I was writing. I of course ran through an entire gambit of emotional states and gave some serious thought to the idea of discontinuing the story telling myself that I didn’t want to offend anybody. And then I read your post and you’re right. If I stop writing every story that my imagination comes up with on the off chance that I might offend one person, I might as well give up on writing. So I guess that’s a risk I’ll just have to take, and then I wrote them a letter explaining that it was not my intention to offend anyone, and that my story was Christian Fiction, not actual History, so perhaps it shouldn’t be taken quite so seriously.

    • Offenses will come. It is part of life. Some people just can’t help themselves but be offended by every little thing. Glad you were encouraged by the short little poem. It encouraged me too.

Leave a Reply

