Your Constant Companion

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
January 5, 1995

I am your constant companion.
I am your greatest helper or heaviest burden.
I will push you onward or drag you down to failure.
I am completely at your command.
Half of the things you do you might as well turn over to me
and I will do them-quickly and correctly.
I am easily managed – you must be firm with me.
Show me exactly how you want something done
and after a few lessons, I will do it automatically.
I am the servant of great people, and alas of all failures as well.
Those who are failures, I have made failures.
I am not a machine though I work with the precision of a machine
plus the intelligence of a person.
You may run me for profit or run me for ruin –
it makes no difference to me.
Take me, train me, be firm with me and
I will place the world at your feet.
Be easy with me and I will destroy you.
Who am I?
I am Habit.

Author Unknown - Please Comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
10 comments
  1. Many thanks Johnfor the excellent hint, actually non-developers just like myself should pull this specific down: )This is very vital for any multi-international web site when it comes to SEO.

    Like

  2. “Take me, train me, be firm with me and I will place the world at your feet.” Great advice to corral our habits and make them work for us! Another bit of encouragement: I’ve read it only takes three weeks to establish a new habit. M-m-m. What should I tackle over the next twenty-one days?!

    Like

  3. onemunchingmomma said:

    We have this posted on our fridge to help us remember to choose right habits.

    Like

  4. xperttraining said:

    Sharing it…love it:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

