Christmas Morning Memories

Shootin' the Breeze

Up at dawn, awakened by dogs shaking collars, the signal for wanting out, I got the message and obeyed.

While they were outside per their request, my lovely wife was still asleep, and I dutifully started the coffee.

Then, a model of efficiency, as coffee brewed, I fed the dogs on the deck and even ventured barefoot to the woodpile.

I started a fire in the wood-burning stove, which I especially like because it has glass doors in front for viewing the flames.

The front room was still half-dark, the light half illuminated by the fire, the orange dawn in east windows, and the tree.

There is something about a Christmas tree’s lights in combination with the burning logs for a cozy Christmas feeling.

I let the dogs back inside and poured a cup of coffee.  The three of us went to the loveseat in front of the fire.

As I sipped my coffee…

View original post 95 more words

Leave a Reply

