Will I See 80?

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
December 4, 2014

I recently chose a new primary care physician. After two visits and exhaustive lab tests, he said I was doing ‘fairly well’ for my age. A little concerned about that comment, I couldn’t resist asking him, ‘Do you think I’ll live to be 80?’

He asked, ‘Do you smoke tobacco or drink alcoholic beverages?’

‘No,’ I replied. ‘I don’t do drugs, either. ‘

Then he asked, ‘Do you eat rib-eye steaks and barbecued ribs?’

I said, ‘No, my other doctor said that all red meat is unhealthy’

Do you go to Las Vegas or Atlantic City?

‘Do you spend a lot of time in the sun, like playing golf, boating, fishing or relaxing on the beach?’

‘No, I don’t,’ I said. He asked, ‘Do you gamble, drive fast cars, or have a lot of sex?’

‘No,’ I said. ‘I don’t do any of those things.’

Then he looked at me and asked, ‘Then why do you care?

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
9 comments
  1. Ha – that would be something of a story my Dad would have repeated!

    Like

  2. Wendy said:

    That was good. Life is for living.

    Like

  3. Pretty funny. I want to do all of those things AND live to be 90 so we’ll see how that goes.

    Like

  4. Bernieshoot said:

    funny but so true

    Like

  5. So good! It’s true in a way. 😀 I was at the dentist the other week and he said out of the blue, “It looks like you are keeping all of your teeth.” I looked at him like he was crazy but he was trying to give a compliment–that I won’t need dentures but I don’t plan on going anywhere any time soon so I don’t know. 😀 Take care! 🙂

    Like

  6. Like my mother told me once, “If I live to be 80 and still have my right mind, I’ll be satisfied.” She lived to be 90, but at about 85 she began losing her memory on somethings that never returned. I don’t do any of those things in the joke, but I still want to live to be 80! There’s lots of things I do that bring me joy.

    Like

  7. dbp49 said:

    I don’t do most of those things and I’m not even 60. Oh boy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

