Driving the Car

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
September 15, 2014

A young boy had just gotten his driver’s permit and asked his father, an evangelist, if they could discuss his use of the car.

The father took him into his study and said to the boy,

“I’ll make a deal with you, son. You bring your grades up from a C to a B, study your Bible a little, get your hair cut, then we’ll talk about the car.”

Well, the boy thought about that for a moment, and decided that he’d settle for the offer, and they agreed on it.

After about six weeks, the boy came back and again asked his father about using the car.

Again, they went to the study, where his father said,

“Son, I’ve been real proud of you. You’ve brought your grades up, and I’ve observed that you have been studying your Bible, and participating a lot more in the Bible study class on Sunday morning. But, I’m real disappointed, since you haven’t gotten your hair cut.”

The young man paused a moment, and then said,

“You know, dad, I’ve been thinking about that, and I’ve noticed in my studies of the Bible that Samson had long hair, John the Baptist had long hair, Moses had long hair and there’s even a strong argument that Jesus had long hair.”  [The latter is probably not true]

His father replied,

“You’re right, son. Did you also notice that they all walked everywhere they went?”

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
4 comments
  1. awax1217 said:

    This one begs for a different ending. The length of the hair does not make or break the accomplishments of the man. It is a personal choice. What the father is saying is study is good and develops your mind but allowing you to have a personal choice shows I disapprove of your choice and wish you to comply. Therefore you are not a man to stand up for your principles but a boy doing what I say is right and wrong. Eventually the young man will stand up for what he feels is correct. I had long hair when I was young. I decided it was right for me. Why the guilt trip?

    • Norma Mercurio said:

      I was glad to see the post of awax 1217 because I too feel the story needed a different ending. However, I do realize that this particular story needed that ending or the final punch line would have been lost.
      I truly believe that as parents we need to pick our battles…and we don’t need to win on every point. So I say the young man earned the use of the family car! 🙂

  2. Loved it! Funny 🙂 And my comment is NOT a comment on long hair and personal choice.

Leave a Reply

