You are the Light of the World

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
August 6, 2014

D. L. Moody told the story of a man crossing the Atlantic by ship. One night, as he was confined to his cabin due to seasickness, he heard the cry, “Man overboard!”  He felt that there was nothing he could do to help, but he said to himself, “I can at least put my lantern in the porthole.”  He struggled to his feet and hung the light so it would shine out into the darkness.

The next day he learned that the person had been rescued and had told others, “I was going down in the dark night for the last time when someone put a light in a porthole. As it shone on my hand, a sailor in a lifeboat grabbed it and pulled me in.”

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can given
5 comments
  1. I think we will find out in eternity that we had more positive effect than we ever knew

  2. You never know what a small kind gesture can do for another person, it might have even saved their life!

  3. I always believe that everything is chained in this world. What I mean is that what we do can affect others too. Just remembered, “The Five People You Meet In Heaven” by Mitch Albom (a good reference of what I am trying to say). Haha…

    Nice story, by the way! 🙂

  4. Delana said:

    This DL Moody story reminds me of the following quote: “I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. And because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.”
    ― Edward Everett Hale

Leave a Reply

