A Cowboy in Church

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
June 1, 2001

One Sunday morning the congregation of a ritzy church (with vaulted ceilings, hand-carved oak pews, stained-glass windows and deep plush carpet) had a stir.

A man came in just minutes before the service was to begin and he was dressed horribly. He had on boots, overalls, a flannel shirt, and a cowboy hat.

The congregation was aghast! Many quickly sent notes to the minister about this concern. At the end of the service, the minister greeted the humbly dressed man and asked him if he enjoyed the service.

The man exclaimed that he enjoyed it very much. The minister asked the man to consider possibly dressing differently, and told him to pray to Jesus about how he would have him dress if he should return again.

The next week the man returned. He was dressed the same and once again the congregation was disturbed. At the end of the service, the minister greeted the man again and asked him what he had been told by Jesus concerning how to dress for church.

The man exclaimed, “I spoke with Jesus about this, but Jesus said He didn’t know how I should dress for this church because He has never been here.”

Author Unknown - Please comment if you no the author
 so credit can be given
13 comments
  1. seeker said:

    Jesus doesn’t care how we dress us. I posted something similar about this.

  2. “Love it!”

    AND, it’s the…TRUTH! Jesus, said NOT to follow the Religions of “man!” He said, “…whenever, two or more, are gathered in His Name, THAT IS THE CHURCH AND He WILL be present…” (paraphrased)

    Don’t you just love that word? “WILL” as it’s always, “God’s WILL be done!”

  3. I do not believe Jesus ever got dressed up for dinner. He did not even wear a tux to the Last Supper.

  4. Now that’s sad. I hope a flame of revival falls on that group. Thanks for the profound thought.

  5. This reminded me of a scene from Steel Magnolias –
    “Come on, you’re going to church with me”
    “Oh, I don’t know if I should….”
    “Honey, God don’t care which church you go to – long as you show up!”

    • Bro. Nick said:

      How eternally true “A Cowboy in Church”. “The Lord Jesus Christ” said in Matt 7:21-23:
      21 ¶ Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.
      22 Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?
      23 And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

      About “a scene from Steel Magnolias” – “Honey, God don’t care which church you go to – long as you show up!”

      According to that quote it doesn’t matter if you go to a Mormon, Unitarian, Jehovah’s Witness, Church of Satan, or any other ‘church’ that teaches “another Gospel”. (2 Cor 11:4 | Gal 1:6)

      All CHRISTians must be so extremely careful in these times of ‘end-of-the-end times’! {Read 2 Pet 1 -> )

      Only “the truth” | “thy truth” | “the words of truth” written in “the word of God” [107 occurrences – KJV] !!!

  6. LOVE this! It reminds me of a time when I went to church right after work and I had on these red boots that I felt a little embarrassed about showing up to church in (I wished I had brought an extra pair). The first thing the greeter said to me was, “Those are great boots!” I told him about how I was a little embarrassed and he said, “God says come as you are.”

  7. The same kind of church Revelation 3 pictures, with Jesus standing outside a closed door.

  8. Yes, funny, but also extremely sad. I dress up for church because I want to honor the Lord, not because of what any human being thinks. And I do not look at others who are dressed differently than I am with anything but pleasure that they are there. Took me a while to come to that place, but I’m finally there.

Leave a Reply

