Enjoy the Moment

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
November 7, 2000

This morning I went out for a run with my dog as usual, but on the way back I did something different. I was walking by a small park when this amazing cool breeze stopped me in my tracks. I stood there for a few seconds, closed my eyes and took a deep breath through my nose.

When I opened my eyes I noticed a bench just a short distance away so I thought instead of heading back inside and sitting down in front of my computer for work, I would take a few minutes and really enjoy this moment.

I sat down and stared down at the grass while the breeze continued to come and go. I noticed a small berry on the ground and it immediately took me back to my childhood. My parents had a tree next to their house that grew berries and I would often pick them off standing in the grass bare foot.

During those moments, I had forgotten about all of the stress, debt, and problems in my life. All that ran through my body was pure happiness and joy. Work, bills, deadlines…none of that mattered anymore.

So the next time you have an opportunity to enjoy the moment, do it. That very moment in time will never come again.

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
11 comments
  1. kiwiskan said:

    extremely good advice. ‘Stop and smell the roses’

  2. Becca said:

    Living in the moment, the now, is the only time you are guaranteed. Blessings.

  3. This is simple advice that few of us take as seriously as we should. If we did, I am convinced that we would all be mentally and physically better off for it. Thank you for reminding me of this today.

    • Norma Mercurio said:

      Amen to that!!

  4. It’s those simple moments, isn’t? A good reminder to stop and savor them.

  5. Cane said:

    Someone once told me that time was a predator that stalked us all our lives. But I rather believe that time is a companion who goes with us on the journey and reminds us to cherish every moment because they’ll never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we’ve lived. After all, Number One, we’re only mortal. Jean Luc Picard

    Same idea, though not the author of the text

  6. Pdubyah said:

    I get called weird for this, but when I occasionally get to take time off in the week from work I go to the mall, and I just watch people working, content in the knowledge that it’s not me on that day. On reflection that probably is weird.

  7. lorieb said:

    good advice. I have roses growing up the side of my garage that i must walk by coming and going through my front door. I always try to “stop and smell the roses” even if just for a second, always makes me smile…

Leave a Reply

