Just A Typewriter

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
October 3, 2008

Paul Smith: One Man At His Finest – with a Typewriter

He lived at Rose Haven Nursing Home ( Roseburg , OR ) for years. Paul Smith, the man with extraordinary talent was born on September 21, 1921, with severe cerebral palsy. Not only had Paul beaten the odds of a life with spastic cerebral palsy, a disability that impeded his speech and mobility but also taught himself to become a master artist as well as a terrific chess player even after being devoid of a formal education as a child.

“When typing, Paul used his left hand to steady his right one. Since he couldn’t press two keys at the same time, he almost always locked the shift key down and made his pictures using the symbols at the top of the number keys. In other words, his pictures were based on these characters ….. @ # $ % ^ & * ( )_ . Across seven decades, Paul created hundreds of pictures. He often gave the originals away. Sometimes, but not always, he kept or received a copy for his own records. As his mastery of the typewriter grew, he developed techniques to create shadings, colors, and textures that made his work resemble pencil or charcoal drawings.”

This great man passed away on June 25, 2009, but left behind a collection of his amazing artwork that will be an inspiration for many.

You know that saying about “When life closes a door, God opens a window”? Well, I think God just helped this man build a whole new house.

Click on this link below to see more about this amazing man and His work:

http://cerebralpalsy.org/inspiration/inspirational-artists/paul-smith-the-typewriter-artist/

6 comments
  1. Stunning! I copied the link and posted it on FB. And I am keeping a copy. Thank YOU so much for your wonderful “finds” in the motivational and inspirational world. Kenny, you are using your time and talent to motivate and inspire your world, too.

    • Thanks, I really needed your words of inspiration this morning!!!!! I have been very close to slowing down my work with MS&D…… You and several others have made comments that seem to be moving me to stay engaged!!!! So, thank you for your comments!!!

      Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      • Now, I would understand if you took weekends off. I think that you used to do that. We are all very busy on the weekends. I have slowed way down since I have been engaged in the local senior center and volunteer at a food pantry. I hardly ever miss reading your blog, even if I get behind. I appreciate you. 🙂

  2. Very inspiring article and artwork. I never heard of anything like Paul’s artwork. Thanks for sharing it.

  3. Lori said:

    Thank you for sharing this. Just what I needed today!

Leave a Reply

