Slow Dance

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
September 6, 2001

Have you ever watched kids
On a merry-go-round,
Or listened to rain
Slapping the ground?

Ever followed a butterfly’s erratic flight,
Or gazed at the sun fading into the night?

You better slow down,
Don’t dance so fast,
Time is short,
The music won’t last

Do you run through each day
On the fly,
When you ask, “How are you?”,
Do you hear the reply?

When the day is done
Do you lie in your bed,
With the next hundred chores
Running through your head?

You better slow down,
Don’t dance so fast,
Time is short,
The music won’t last

Ever told your child,
We’ll do it tomorrow,
And in your haste,
Not see his sorrow?

Ever lost touch,
Let a friendship die,
‘Cause you never had time
To call and say hi?

You better slow down,
don’t dance so fast,
time is short,
the music won’t last

When you run so fast to get somewhere
You miss half the fun of getting there.
When you worry and hurry through your day,
It’s like an unopened gift thrown away.

Life isn’t a race,
So take it slower,
Hear the music
Before your song is over

Written by David L. Weatherford
11 comments
  1. Great post! It is my hope to begin to slow down each day and really be present for each moment. God has put us here for a reason and each piece of our day fits into His plan for us. I need to stop rushing and listen for God’s prompting and follow His will for me instead of my own.

  2. blmaluso said:

    These words ring so true for me. Thank you for reminding me to stay in the present and keep my eyes and heart open to God’s will.

  3. I am filled with sadness when I think of how much of my child’s life I spent working. I can never have that time back. If I could only have spent more time with her. But, we do our best. I had to work so hard to pay her medical bills as a single parent. I had no choice. I just wish I had one day extra with her. Wonderful post – thank you.

  4. Great thoughts…fits well with my post today…Porch Sitting…being still…
    Thanks for sharing!

  5. Great post. Fits well with my post today…porch sitting…being still…
    Thanks for sharing Kenny!

  6. Tony said:

    Where have you been hiding?

    • Tony said:

      Comment was meant for AMorelle, sorry

  7. rommel said:

    nice reminder not to move so fast that we miss the fun. thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

