Dust if You Must

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
September 5, 2001

I can’t tell you how many countless hours
that I have spent CLEANING!

I used to spend at least 8 hours every weekend
making sure things were just perfect – “in case
someone came over”. Then I realized one day
that no one came over; they were all out living
life and having fun!

Now, when people visit, I find no need to explain
the “condition” of my home. They are more in-
terested in hearing about the things I’ve been
doing while I was away living life and having fun.
If you haven’t figured this out yet, please
heed this advice.

Life is short. Enjoy it! Dust if you must, but
wouldn’t it be better to paint a picture or
write a letter, bake a cake or plant a seed,
ponder the difference between want and need?

Dust if you must, but there’s not much time,
with rivers to swim and mountains to climb,
music to hear and books to read,!
friends to cherish and life to lead.

Dust if you must, but the world’s out there
with the sun in your eyes, the wind in your
hair, a flutter of snow, a shower of rain.
This day will not come around again.

Dust if you must, but bear in mind, old age
will come, and it’s not kind. And when you
go – and go you must – you, yourself
will make more dust!

This poem was first published on September 15th 1998 in the 21st edition of The Lady (“in continuous publication since 1885 and widely respected as England’s longest running weekly magazine for women
15 comments
  1. seeker said:

    Love it. Leave the dust for the bunnies and spend more time outside.

  2. Thank you for this – so true! As a mom of little ones, this is my mantra: “my house is not messy, it is WELL LOVED” 🙂 mamas of littles, this might encourage you – http://wp.me/p3zH10-55

  3. Oh, boy. I needed to be reminded of the inconsequentiality (Isn’t that a fun word?!) of a clean house. Thank you, Kenny!

  4. A wonderful reminder that there is more to life than a clean and orderly house, though that also feels good inside..

  5. happycat13 said:

    YES!! Life is too short to worry with trivial stuff like dust. The house is cleaned once a week on Saturday morning in 45 minutes, after two cups of java. It WILL get dirty again, but I only worry with it 45 minutes a week. I do love this poem! Thanks for sharing!!

  6. dawnmarie said:

    Reblogged this on Take A Look and commented:
    This is a really good reminder for me.

  7. I rarely dust, but I think the reason things don’t get dusty is my wife.

    I do change the oil in our cars though. In fact, I’ll be doing that tomorrow if the Lord doesn’t come back tonight.

    Good message, dawnmarie.

    Thanks and God’s blessings…

  8. wmac620 said:

    I posted this on facebook and a friend wrote, “This sweet poem was first published on September 15th 1998 in the 21st edition of The Lady (“in continuous publication since 1885 and widely respected as England’s longest running weekly magazine for women”).”

    • I have updated the Post to include your notes…….. Thanks for your help!!!

      Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  9. Oh boy, this is music for my soul! I HATE to clean. It just needs to be done all over again, very soon. Love this one. Reblogging on Study God’s Word 🙂

  10. Reblogged this on Study God's Word and commented:
    Here’s one, ladies, to lift your spirits and maybe relieve you of some unrealistic guilt. Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

