A New Suit

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
July 17, 2001

Billy Graham is now 92 years old with Parkinson’s disease.
In  January, leaders in Charlotte, North Carolina, invited him to a luncheon in his honor.

Billy initially  hesitated to accept the invitation because he struggles  with  Parkinson’s  disease. But the Charlotte leaders said, ‘we don’t expect  a  major  address. Just come and let us honor you.’ So he  agreed.

After wonderful things were said about him, Dr.  Graham stepped to the  rostrum,  looked at the crowd, and said,

“I’m reminded today of  Albert Einstein, the great physicist who this month  has  been honored by Time magazine as the Man of the Century. Einstein  was once traveling from Princeton on a train when the conductor  came down the aisle, punching the tickets of every passenger. When  he came to Einstein, Einstein reached in his vest pocket. He  couldn’t find his ticket, so he reached in his trouser  pockets.

It wasn’t there.  He looked in his briefcase  but couldn’t find it.  Then he looked in the seat beside him.  He still couldn’t find it.

“The conductor said, ‘Dr.  Einstein, I know who you are. We all know who you are. I’m sure  you bought a ticket. Don’t worry about  it.’

“Einstein  nodded appreciatively. The conductor continued down the  aisle  punching  tickets. As he was ready to move to the next car, he turned around  and saw the great physicist down on his hands and knees looking  under his seat for his ticket.

“The conductor rushed back  and said, ‘Dr. Einstein, Dr. Einstein, don’t worry, I know who you  are; no problem. You don’t need a ticket. I’m sure you bought  one.’

Einstein looked at him and said, “Young man, I too,  know who I am. What I don’t know is where I’m  going.”

Having said that Billy Graham continued, “See the  suit I’m wearing? It’s a  brand  new suit. My children, and my grandchildren are telling me I’ve  gotten a little slovenly in my old age. I used to be a bit more  fastidious. So I went out and bought a new suit for this luncheon  and one more occasion. You know what that occasion is? This is the  suit in which I’ll be buried. But when you hear I’m dead, I don’t  want you to immediately remember the suit I’m wearing. I want you  to remember this: “I not only know who I am. I also know  where I’m going.”

 

 

Author - Robert Morris
http://www.examiner.com/article/billy-graham-s-new-suit
16 comments
  1. Kris said:

    Even at 92, still getting a word in for the Lord….love it!

  2. MrTheKidd said:

    Yes!

  3. Love this. Reminds me of the words of a hymn we used to sing in church.
    I know who I have believed in and I’m persuaded, that He is able, to keep that which I’ve committed, unto Him against that day!

    • I love it!!!! Keep on singing and finish it with Grace!!!

      Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  4. I don’t know if I should admire that man…or laugh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

