The Lord’s Voice

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
June 29, 2011

Note for the MS&D Side Bar: If you enjoy Morning Story and Dilbert
 you will like "Suspended Coffee".  
  It's full of real life uplifting stories.... 
   Kenny  T

A young man had been to Wednesday night Bible Study. The Pastor had shared about listening to God and obeying the Lord’s voice. The young man couldn’t help but wonder, “Does God still speak to people?”

After service he went out with some friends for coffee and pie and they discussed the message.  Several different ones talked about how God had led them in different ways.

It was about ten o’clock when the young man started driving home. Sitting in his car, he just began to pray, “God…If you still speak to people speak to me. I will listen. I will do my best to obey.” As he drove down the main street of his town, he had the strangest thought to stop and buy a gallon of milk.

He shook his head and said out loud, “God is that you?” He didn’t get a reply and started on toward home.~ ~~ But again, the thought: Buy a gallon of milk. The young man thought about Samuel and how he didn’t recognize the voice of God, and how little Samuel ran to Eli. “Okay, God, in case that is you, I will buy the milk.” It didn’t seem like too hard a test of obedience. He could always use the milk. He stopped and purchased the gallon of milk and started off toward home.

As he passed Seventh Street, he again felt the urge, “Turn Down that street.” This is crazy he thought and drove on past the intersection. Again, he felt that he should turn down Seventh Street. At the next intersection, he turned back and headed down Seventh. Half jokingly, he said out loud, “Okay, God, I will”.

He drove several blocks, when suddenly, he felt like he should stop. He pulled over to the curb and looked around. He was in semi commercial area of town. It wasn’t the best but it wasn’t the worst of neighborhoods either. The businesses were closed and most of the houses looked dark like the people were already in bed. Again, he sensed something, “Go and give the milk to the people in the house across the street.” The young man looked at the house. It was dark and it looked like the people were either gone or they were already asleep.

He started to open the door and then sat back in the car seat. “Lord, this is insane. Those people are asleep and if I wake them up, they are going to be mad and I will look stupid.” Again, he felt like he should go and give the milk. Finally, he opened the door, “Okay God, if this is you, I will go to the door and I will give them the milk. If you want me to look like a crazy person, okay. I want to be obedient. I guess that will count for something but if they don’t answer right away, I am out of here.”

He walked across the street and rang the bell. He could hear some noise inside. A man’s voice yelled out, “Who is it? What do you want?” Then the door opened before the young man could get away. The man was standing there in his jeans and T-shirt. He looked like he just got out of bed. He had a strange look on his face and he didn’t seem too happy to have some stranger standing on his doorstep. “What is it?” The young man thrust out the gallon of milk, “Here, I brought this to you.” The man took the milk and rushed down a hallway.

Then from down the hall came a woman carrying the milk toward the kitchen. The man was following her holding a baby. The baby was crying. The man had tears streaming down his face.
The man began speaking and half crying, “We were just praying. We had some big bills this month and we ran out of money. We didn’t have any milk for our baby. I was just praying and asking God to show me how to get some milk.” His wife in the kitchen yelled out, “I ask him to send an Angel with some. Are you an Angel?”

The young man reached into his wallet and pulled out all the money he had on him and put in the man’s hand. He turned and walked back toward his car and the tears were streaming down his face.

Author Unknown - Comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
17 comments
  1. It is more important to obey God’s still small voice than we know. It affects so many others for good when we listen and follow through on what we are asked. 🙂

  2. I once had the strongest possible urge to go into a Christian bookstore to buy a gift for the receptionist at my firm. I never went there before and have never been in the shop since then. It was summer, and I kept thinking Christmas was a long way off, but I was feeling an urgency that made me think I should obey. Of course, once I bought a pen for use in making notes in a Bible (it had hands folded in prayer at the end of the pen and some kind of inscription), I thought it was ridiculous to hold it until the holiday. I would forget about it by then. So I took it to work and just gave it to her. She started to cry. She told me she had been praying so hard for an answer to a problem and felt certain this was the answer. And it gave her so much peace. I paid for the pen, but I could not help but feel it was someone else’s gift that I delivered.

    I have only felt that way a few other times in my life. Each time I acted and think it turned out well. Thanks for the inspirational messages every day!

  3. 3 months ago, standing outside my daughters’ kindergarten classroom, I saw a new mom in the crowd and had the most urgent sense I needed to befriend her. I went over and introduced myself, and we made polite conversation. I wondered what all that was about. Then, “coincidentally”, I kept bumping into her in the strangest places the following week, and each time getting the feeling that I definitely was supposed to be her friend. So I made an effort and we became friends. I liked her and enjoyed her company, but then last week, the reason Why became clear. Just hours after her husband shipped out overseas, she had to have an emergency c-section for her very premature twins. And being new to town, who could she call to hold her hand? Her Friend. I am still awestruck with wonder that God should have allowed me to be her friend “for such a time as this” and welcome her babies into the world. So glad I listened to that still, small voice outside the kindergarten classroom that day.

    • God works in so many ways!!!! Thanks for sharing your new Friend with us!! How are the Twins??

      Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      • The twins are breathing on their own, stable and doing well, thanks!

  4. Jessica said:

    This has happened to me and to others I know. Once I felt compelled to drive two hours to Malibu to a home I’d been to once of a woman who lived alone there part-time to wish her a happy birthday. She wasn’t there and I had no idea if she’d be back that day or even that week. I prayed again and “felt” I should go to the restaurant across the street, on the beach side (Pacific Coast Highway; there was nothing else for miles) and I left a note on her door saying I’d be there. It was an expensive restaurant and I didn’t want to spend a lot of money and had no reason to stay long–but just as I was leaving she walked in. I said, “Oh, you got my note!” and she said, “What note? I just came here for a glass of water.” She was a woman with huge emotional issues and this was the only acknowledgement of her birthday she got that year. We are still in touch and I’m one of the few people in her life that she trusts. Wow.

    The best-known example is probably George Mueller’s. He and his wife started an orphanage entirely on faith, never told anyone their financial or other needs. One night they and the children sat down around the long table and Mueller thanked God for their dinner–even though they had no food to put on the table. Just then there was a knock on the door. A milk truck had broken down outside and the driver said the milk would spoil–could they take it? And someone came to the door from a bakery which had made too many loaves of bread. . . I may have a detail or two wrong. You can check him out online. We walk by faith but the evidence that our faith is grounded in reality can be very tangible.

    • Both stories are wonderful!!!! Thank you for taking the time to share them with the MS&D family!!!!

      Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  5. God still speaks to us, but we tend to drown His voice with our business. I have found out that every time He has spoken to me and I have listened, I am truly blessed. Thank you for sharing this!

  6. So many opportunities every day to share God’s love! This story is very touching:-) Thanks.

  7. Anonymous said:

    I heard a saying once…”Take time for the quiet moments as God whispers and the world is loud.”. If we take the time to hear and listen to God then we get the honor of being the hands and feet of Jesus. I have grown up seeing thus kind of thing happen and have had the privilege of being the vessel that God uses to pour His blessings out on others. Great post!

  8. I like how this whole thing started over a cup of coffee and a piece of pie! 🙂 Dave

  9. awesome post and so true… He speaks we must hear and obey!!

  10. Thank you for being positive!
    I’ve nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogger Award! Congratulations!

    Cheers
    The Grateful Golfer

Leave a Reply

