Watch the Rain

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
June 26, 2006

Note for the MS&D Side Bar: If you enjoy Morning Story and Dilbert
 you will like "Suspended Coffee".  It is full of uplifting stories.... 
  Kenny  T

One rainy afternoon I was driving along one of the main streets of town, taking those extra precautions necessary when the roads are wet and slick.

Suddenly, my daughter, Aspen, spoke up from her relaxed position in her seat. “Dad, I’m thinking of something.”

This announcement usually meant she had been pondering some fact for a while, and was now ready to expound all that her six-year-old mind had discovered. I was eager to hear.

“What are you thinking?” I asked.

“The rain! ;” she began, “is like sin, and the windshield wipers are like God wiping our sins away.”

After the chill bumps raced up my arms I was able to respond. “That’s really good, Aspen.”
Then my curiosity broke in. How far would this little girl take this revelation? So I asked… “Do you notice how the rain keeps on coming? What does that tell you?”

Aspen didn’t hesitate one moment with her answer: “We keep on sinning, and God just keeps on forgiving us.”

I will always remember this whenever I turn my wipers on.

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
11 comments
  1. Lyn said:

    And a little child shall lead them

  2. Good reminder that I need to replace my wiper blades. 😉

    • Great comment!!! My wipers are not working at all…. I’ve been using Rain-X window cleaner… Maybe that a subject for another Post??? The water beads up and runs right off the windshield when I’m moving down the road!!!!

      Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      • Psalm 119:111…”I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” Apply God’s Word and it’s like the Rain-X that repels the water. Great post Kenny!!

  3. This is precious! What wisdom from that little one. My children teach me so much about being a child of God, too. So thankful for these lessons from ‘the least of these’ about the Kingdom.

  4. as will I always remember when I turn my wipers on…perfect analogy!

  5. With the help of the Holy Spirit, we can control the rain! We’ll never stop it, but we can diminish it! Thanks, Kenny T! Blessings. 🙂 Dave

  6. This reminds me of a conversation I had with my daughter yesterday. She wants to do good, but she was so sad because she feels like she keeps messing up. It was a great opportunity to share God’s abundant grace and forgiveness. I will have to use the rain and windshield analogy in our next talk. Thank you for this post!

Leave a Reply

