WHY DO WE NEED CHRIST?

"Working for Christ"

“… apart from me you can do nothing.”  (John 15:5, NIV)

JOHN 15_5

It’s very hard to take those words seriously. After all, at first glance it doesn’t seem possible that we can’t do anything without Christ.

It seems to me that a lot of people do lots of good things without Christ? Anyone, even an atheist, can be kind, pay his suppliers on time, tell their boss the truth, visit the sick, befriend a lonely colleague, and do quality work. Isn’t that something?

Well, it certainly isn’t to be despised, but it seems to me that it isn’t the type of “fruit” that John’s Gospel was speaking of. Jesus is interested in the type of fruit that shows that we are His disciples and in the type that brings glory to His Father. So some of the things a non-believer may do might be exactly the…

View original post 222 more words

6 comments
  1. mtetar said:

    Amen and Hallelujah! Without Christ we can’t do anything it is through Christ we are able to do all things. Thank you for sharing, and Be Blessed, Mtetar

  2. I get it, but here’s where I run into trouble… I didn’t understand anything about God or Jesus until I had kids of my own… BUT when they do good things, while they do reflect well on me (or probably more fairly stated, my wife), I don’t teach them to be good kids for my own glory – I teach them to be good because they will ultimately live happier, more enjoyable lives for it – and that is what I believe pleases Jesus and God. I give God the glory for everything good in my life because all good that is in me comes from Christ, but I’m missing something when it comes to the “God wants the glory” point. That seems too human (and arrogant) for God. I This sure was a great post though. You got me thinking about the important things, and for that I thank you greatly.

  3. Thank you for this. Such a wonderful point you made. As I was reading I kept thinking of this verse:

    having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people. (2 Timothy 3:5 NIV)

    As Christians we must be doing good because one we want to glorify God but also because we are concerned for others eternal destination. We love and serve to lead people to Jesus. Non-believers often do good because they well want to feel good about themselves. Like you said, they want to become self reliant not needing God. We can appreciate the good people do but our main calling as believers is leading others to salvation in Jesus Christ.

    Wonderful post!! Thank you again!

  4. What a great post! You explained it so well! Will read this again! Excellent!

Leave a Reply

