What Are You Going To Be?

Vintage Dilbert May 28, 2002

Vintage Dilbert
May 28, 2002

When you get to heaven, God is not going to ask you why you weren’t more like Mother Teresa, Billy Graham or Bono. He’s likely to ask you why you weren’t more like you. Your responsibility and source of real freedom and success is to discover who you are. Lead with your own unique talents and personality. Be authentically you and let God use you.

Remember the classic movie, Forrest Gump. At one part, Jenny asks, “What are you gonna be when you grow up?” and Forrest says, “Why can’t I be me?”

Theologian Frederick Buechner once told a graduating class:

“The voice we should listen to most, as we choose a vocation, is the voice that we might think we should listen to least, and that is the voice of our own gladness. What can we do that makes us the gladdest? What can we do that leaves us with the strongest sense of sailing true north? Is it making things with our hands out of wood or stone or paint or canvas?” Or is it making something we hope like truth out of words? Or is it making people laugh or weep in a way that cleanses their spirit? I believe that if it is a thing that makes us truly glad, then it is a good thing, and it is our thing, and it is the calling voice that we were made to answer with our lives.”

Can you trust what makes you “glad? Could that really be the voice of your “calling?”

“A tree gives glory to God by being a tree. For in being what God means it to be it is obeying Him…. The more a tree is like itself, the more it is like Him….” – Thomas Merton

By Dan Miller--as seen in Love Your Work
20 comments
  1. Great post! When I get to heaven I can say I did all I wanted to do and then some! Live life!

    Kimberly

  2. A very interesting thought. I’ve always been afraid that when I get to Heaven God is going to say I’ve been TOO MUCH like ME (favoring the weaknesses of my flesh) and not enough like Christ.

  3. Interesting article, thought provoking.

    I agree with Christine Goodnough though, in the sense that the Bible advocates there should be ‘less of me, more of Christ’.

    I think to fully know ourselves and to fully experience our own lives as ourselves, we need to daily move further and deeper in our relationship with Jesus.

    As far as vocation is concerned, it’s a bit like the person who said, “Enjoy what you do and you’ll never have to work another day in your life.”

    Thanks 🙂

  4. Great words. As Christians we are sometimes in so much conflict as to what God expects of us to be. He created us as unique me and unique you. In our discovering of this WHO WE ARE in Christ, we learn to cease trying to be and just be. He lives the life in us, if we believe He alone is our source of life.Jesus said we can do nothing without Him and the amazing thing we discover is He releases us to truly be who He has made us to be, warts and all.We are His and He is doing the living in us. Go ahead, be yourself, because your really Christ in your form! Galations 2:20.
    G

  5. I thank God I am not who I want to be, and do not what my sinful inclinations would have me do. Because of our fallen nature I would disagree with Buechner and I think Psalm 14 disagrees with him also.

  6. Okay, Kenny T! That’s a five-cupper! Thanks for bring it to me this morning. God bless. 🙂 Dave

  7. “Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.” (Psalm 37:4-5). I believe the right way for a Christian to make decisions is to pray, seek God’s answer from His Word, seek godly counsel, then do what you desire. As you are doing the first three things, God is lining up your desires to be the same as His. We don’t have to be afraid to do things that make us glad if we are delighting in Him.

  8. farahgarcia said:

    Reblogged this on farah musing and commented:
    i love this. beautiful.

  9. davarr said:

    Kudos for the Dilbert; I have enjoyed him for decades. It is good for Regenerate people to be able to laugh when it is truly humorous. I wish I were more like Jesus and less like Wally…

Leave a Reply

