War of the Winds

Shootin' the Breeze

The flames fascinate,
Bringing comfort
As I contemplate,
Staring at the fire.
                           Winds rudely attack
                           My reverie,
By a chilly draft
Tresspassing inside.
Noisy blowing cold,
Unrelenting,
Being too bold
Invading our home.
                              Logs and chinking
                               And metal roof
                               Try protecting
                                 Us from this weather.
Some windows rattle.
Walls are shaking.
It’s a battle,
Testing our shelter.
                                   Like evil v. good,
                                   Hostile forces
                                   War with the wood
                                    In our fiery stove.
Burning wood’s heat
Challenges wind
As they compete
On temperature.
                                  The brave cabin
                                   Resists the force
                                   As we stay in —
                                    Safe from blowing rage.
With loud gales outside,
My wife hugs me,
Snuggling by my side.
I don’t mind the wind.

fireplace

View original post

2 comments
  1. Kenny,
    Thank you for re-blogging my War of the Winds poem. As a result, more viewers read it than anything else that I have posted. You are an influential blogger!
    Your friend,
    Al

    Like

    • The Morning Story and Dilbert (MS&D) has a wonderfully good group of followers. From one of your recent Post I

      believe you call it “Riding the Brand.” The Stories that I post touch my heart and I believe the Good Lord blesses

      many others in a special way thru the Post.

      On Saturdays I try to re-blog Post that touch my heart and share with the MS&D family different Bloggers that may

      not get their worthy Post out to a larger audience using the normal channels of WordPress. I call it “MS&D

      Advertising” or “Freshly Pressed by MS&D.”

      Bottom line, I give God the Glory in MS&D’s success!!!

      Take Care My Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      PS: Tell Beau I said hello…..

      Like

Leave a Reply

