Two Boxes

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
May 1, 2001

I  have in my hands two boxes
which God gave me to hold
he said, “put all your sorrows in the black
and all your joys in the gold

I heeded his words, and in the two boxes
both my joys and sorrows I store
but though the gold became heavier each day
the black was as light as before

with curiosity I opened the black
I wanted to find out why
and I saw in the base of the box a hole
which my sorrows had fallen out by

I showed the hole to God, and mused aloud,
I wonder where my sorrows could be
he smiled a gentle smile at me
my child they’re all here with me

I asked, “God, why give me the boxes,
why the gold and black with the hole?”
“My child the gold is for you to count your blessings,
the black is for you to let go.”

 

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
28 comments
  1. I love it! :3 I think it’s true that all sorrows are all caused by ourselves. If we keep being stuck in sorrows and don’t let them go, it is as if living in hell.

  2. Divva on a mission said:

    Beautiful bedtime read!!! Thanks for sharing!! God bless!

  3. priya24y said:

    Oh god, beautiful post and so thoughtful and worth working upon…excellent..

  4. Wow, before reading any of the other comments my instant thought was “Beautiful!” It’s amazing how many were touched with the same reaction. This post truly is just…wow, beautiful! 🙂 Thank you for sharing this with us.

  5. What a great idea, I will remember this. I have also re-blogged.

  6. I always amazed at how often we humans get our boxes mixed… we hold our sorrows and let go of our blessings. Thanks for reminding me which one to hold, and which one to let go Kenny T.!

  7. tkmorin said:

    Absolutely beautiful! As I see from above comments, I won’t be the first, but I do want to share this, so hopefully it’s okay with you if I re-blogged this. Thank you! 🙂

      • tkmorin said:

        Thank you for all your posts, and for the consent to re-blog! I appreciate it! 🙂

  8. I definitely need to read that this morning! Thank you! God is so good!

  9. Love! Love! Love! This is so excellent! I am so glad I caught this one!!!

  10. FlorK said:

    Thanks for this – i need to go put in more gold!

  11. Count your blessings every day…the big and the small.

Leave a Reply

