Struck Down But Not Destroyed

Especially Made

Lonely FlowerI am not new to spiritual depression. It is something I have struggled with in the past, especially after having children and learning about Gabriel’s special needs. But I realize I’m not alone in this. Reading through the psalms, some of the psalmists seemed to have a fair share of despair. I’ve also heard that great preachers, like Charles Spurgeon, was not immune to the touch of spiritual depression. I have found myself questioning my standing before God because of this struggle. Why would a Christian have to fight for joy? Aren’t Christians supposed to be happy all the time?

I’ve had darker days in my past. Perhaps, one day I can write about it in more detail without falling apart in tears, but I don’t think I can do it today. I will tell you, though, that I am grateful to God for His presence during those very difficult…

View original post 520 more words

2 comments
  1. Again, thank you for sharing this with your readers. This was a very personal post for me about spiritual depression. I’m finding that there are many out there who have struggled or are still struggling with it. I pray that they would be comforted by promises in God’s word, as He has done for me. God bless!

    Like

  2. I needed this! Thank you for sharing. I pray The Lord will meet us all at our points of needs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

