The Apron

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
March 19, 2013

Remember making an apron in Home-Ec? I don’t think our kids know what an apron is.

The principal use of Grandma’s apron was to protect the dress underneath, because she only had a few. It was also because it was easier to wash aprons than dresses, and aprons used less material. But along with that, it served as a potholder for removing hot pans from the oven.

It was wonderful for drying children’s tears and, on occasion, was even used for cleaning out dirty ears.

From the chicken coop, the apron was used for carrying eggs, fussy chicks and, sometimes, half-hatched eggs to be finished in the warming oven.

When company came, those aprons were ideal hiding places for shy kids. And when the weather was cold, grandma wrapped it around her arms.

Those big, old aprons wiped many a perspiring brow, while Grandma bent over the hot wood stove. Chips and kindling wood were brought into the kitchen in that apron.

From the garden, it carried all sorts of vegetables. After the peas had been shelled, it carried out the hulls. In the fall, the apron was used to bring in apples that had fallen from the trees.

When unexpected company drove up the road, it was surprising how much furniture that old apron could dust in a matter of seconds.

When dinner was ready, Grandma walked out onto the porch, waved her apron, and the men folks knew it was time to come in from the fields to dinner.

It will be a long time before someone invents something that will replace that ‘old-time apron’ that served so many purposes. Grandma used to set her hot, baked apple pies on the window sill to cool. Her granddaughters set theirs on the window sill to thaw.

They would go crazy now, trying to figure out how many germs were on that apron. I don’t think I ever caught anything from an apron — but love…

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
19 comments
  1. I have a collection of vintage aprons, from family and others. I love the history, lore and nostalgia…I too, caught nothing but love! Nice one 🙂

  2. Yes, absolutely nice one! I enjoyed this post very much and thoroughly. Reading this warmed my heart. Thanks! xx

  3. Beautiful story. It touched my heart and I know it will touch many more.. thank you x

  4. Lyn said:

    Another use of the apron… Susana Wesley (mother of Charles and John) had a very unique use for her apron. She believed very strongly in daily prayer and if she could not find a private place in the house to pray, she put her apr
    on over her head as a sign to the children (all 19 of them) to be extra quiet, mom was praying.

    • Awesome, A Prayer Shawl!!!! Thank you for sharing that!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  5. Nice post. Aprons are still a big thing in Italy. Although they are more like a house coat.

  6. IngaHel said:

    Great story. Bu aprons are not completely gone, at least not here in Iceland, I use it frequently, to protect my clothes me when I cook, and when I need to wipe the tears of little people coming to visit. But the story was good.

  7. I guess aprons went out of style when women started wearing jeans–which don’t need to be kept clean–and having more clothes.
    Grandma’s apron also had pockets for storing small things until they got to their proper place, making notes on a scrap of paper, and carrying hankies. In times past I’ve even filled my apron pockets with clothes pins for hanging out some things or taking them down from the clothesline.

  8. Reminds me of my own grandmother, though she was a city gal when I knew her. She had a pretty productive back yard, though. I loved the last two lines. Extra coffee for you today, my friend.

  9. This brought back so many memories. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Gardengirl said:

    That was such a nice story. Now I want an apron. 🙂

  11. cate b said:

    Boy, as I read this I went right back to my childhood. Thank you. So refreshing.
    Oh, and I wear an apron of many uses when I cook.
    Cate

  12. Sizi said:

    Dad told me that he has fond memories of his Nanny (maternal grandmother) in her apron. Sizi

  13. Thank you for the trip down Memory Lane, Kenny. Makes me think I’d better get a roomy, pocketed apron so my grandchildren will have lots of apron-memories, too!

  14. I read this, and I thank God for the women in our lives.

  15. It reminds me of my mother and a simpler time in life. Thanks!

  16. Oh yes, I still remember. And I still wear an apron when I’m cooking or cleaning up the kitchen. But then, I’m a grandma 🙂

Leave a Reply

