Dancing With God

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
February 1, 1997

When I meditated on the word Guidance,
I kept seeing “dance” at the end of the word.
I remember reading that doing God’s will is a lot like dancing.
When two people try to lead, nothing feels right.
The movement doesn’t flow with the music,
and everything is quite uncomfortable and jerky.
When one person realizes that, and lets the other lead,
both bodies begin to flow with the music.
One gives gentle cues, perhaps with a nudge to the back
or by pressing lightly in one direction or another.
It’s as if two become one body, moving beautifully.
The dance takes surrender, willingness,
and attentiveness from one person
and gentle guidance and skill from the other.
My eyes drew back to the word Guidance.
When I saw “G”: I thought of God, followed by “u” and “i”.
“God, “u” and “i” dance.”
God, you, and I dance.

As I lowered my head, I became willing to trust
That I would get guidance about my life.
Once again, I became willing to let God lead.
My prayer for you today is that God’s blessings
and mercies are upon you on this day and everyday.
May you abide in God, as God abides in you.
Dance together with God, trusting God to lead and to guide you through each season of your life.

Author Unknown - If you know the author please comment
 so credit can be given
44 comments
  1. seeker said:

    Dance, Dance, to the tune of Lord of the Dance. A reflective post. Thank you and time to share in my Facebook.

  2. Thank you, I really feel I needed this post right now. I haven’t given up on Gods guidance in my life but feel I went into a little time out spell over the past several days. Maybe tomorrow I will feel more refreshed and ready to dance again.

  3. What a stunning revelation! I love how simple yet vital the message of this post is. Thank you for sharing it! Blessings to you too!

  4. aheneghana said:

    Thanks. Finding peace with god is a must – not only in times of trouble. Finding inner peace comes through him.

  5. Lovely poetry. The part that inspired me the most was – ” When I saw “G”: I thought of God, followed by “u” and “i”. “God, “u” and “i” dance.” God, you, and I dance.” The whole concept is exactly how it is. You write great!!!! 🙂 m

  6. I love that analogy for the word Guidance. It is so perfect, like GOD. 🙂

    • Hey Liz, It’s great to hear from you!!! I hope you are doing well? Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  7. Debbie said:

    Thank you for sharing this one! It blessed me bunches .. God bless you!

  8. Caddo Veil said:

    WOW, this is fabulous!! And Brilliant! Thank you so much–God bless you as well–love, sis Caddo

  9. I even liken my struggles with Him as a dance…certainly they are times of wrestling but the tension-filled choreography is always brilliant, I am invigorated and wiser after our coming together and I ALWAYS give in to His gentle but firm nudge that says…you can’t do this without me. let me lead.

  10. This is awesome! I’m going to share it with all of my church family/family /and friends..Thank you for always posting things to inspire us. Love it! Stay UPlifted & blessed

    • Thank you for your comment and thank you for sharing!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  11. Patty O said:

    Another wonderful blog! I LOVE your interpretation of guidance! Keep up the great writing, insight and inspiration – I’ll be following along.

  12. lilyboat said:

    Beautiful idea, that could only come from the Holy Spirit! What a wisdom. Thank you!

  13. Wow! 🙂 Wow! 🙂 How uplifting and no tears except those of joy 😉 . I love it!!! Excellent for today. Have a great week, Kenny and take care! 😀

    • Good morning, Thanks for all the smiles!!! I hope you have a wonderful week too!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  14. Excellent post, Kenny! Five cups of freshly brewed coffee! Have a great week. 🙂

    • Hey Dave, I hope you have a wonderful day!!! Don’t forget the Smoothie!!! Take Care and God Bless you my Friend 🙂 Kenny T

  15. Jane said:

    Your blog is often part of my morning quiet time. This morning my question for God was basically, “what now?” I am recently retired, feeling unproductive, and unclear as to God’s direction for me. I told Him this directly, and every single devotional I read this morning was a direct answer, including this. “Dance together with God, trusting God to lead you through EACH SEASON of your life.” How freeing. Thanks!

    • Thank you for your comment and testimony!!! I am richly blessed to have you as a reader!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  16. In this disco type dancing I see, it doesn’t seem that there is a leader because it is just moving and shaking! This story brought back memories of high school dances and one partner I particularly liked because he was so smooth to move with. A good leader. We didn’t date; some girls didn’t like to dance with him because they thought he was overbearing. I guess those feelings can carry over in our spiritual side. Do we sometimes want our own way so badly that we refuse to let God take the lead? I think so.

  17. ONE OF THE HARDEST LESSON TO LEARN, TO TRUST AND OBEY, NOW WHEN YOU REALIZE THAT IT IS CHRIST THAT DOES THE OBEYING FOR YOU, GUIDANCE COMES EASIER.

  18. Another beautiful post to go with my second cup of tea. Thanks, Kenny. Will save this for those times when I forget Who is leading. God bless your day. Connie

  19. Good post to catch up on the day’s in-tray. Must admit to having felt tad uneasy about this concept but thanks for giving it such an excellent slant Kenny – and to everyone for your comments too – for I often sense Him nudging me as I write. Am quite thirsty, so time for another ‘cuppa’ this afternoon! 🙂

  20. Wow, what an awesome way to look at the word. I never would have thought of it.

  21. I never thought of this – I love the idea of dancing with God! That resonates with this woman!

  22. Tina said:

    Sweet! I love it! God too 🙂 he’s in everything – amen!

  23. LOVE LOVE LOVE this–what a wonderful concept! Thank you!

  24. Reblogged this on mabbsonsea and commented:
    Thanks for sharing this. Mrs Mabbsonsea and I have recently started to learn to jive, so this makes a lot of sense to me! (Also, I confess that for some time, although just now and then, when I’m sure no one else is looking, I get down and boogie with God. Don’t tell anyone).

  25. Isn’t it fabulous that new discoveries are waiting, just around the corner of each new day? Today it’s guidance=God, U + I Dance. What a fun, fresh twist on a familiar word! Congratulations to the creative-thinker behind this one!

Leave a Reply

