Pearls

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
January 27,1999

Jenny was a bright-eyed, pretty five-year-old girl. One day when she and her mother were checking out at the grocery store, Jenny saw a plastic pearl necklace priced at $2.50. How she wanted that necklace, and when she asked her mother if she would buy it for her, her mother said, “Well, it is a pretty necklace, but it costs an awful lot of money. I’ll tell you what. I’ll buy you the necklace, and when we get home we can make up a list of chores that you can do to pay for the necklace. And don’t forget that for your birthday Grandma just might give you a whole dollar bill, too. Okay?”

Jenny agreed, and her mother bought the pearl necklace for her. Jenny worked on her chores very hard every day, and sure enough, her grandma gave her a brand new dollar bill for her birthday. Soon Jenny had paid off the pearls.

How Jenny loved those pearls. She wore them everywhere-to kindergarten, bed and when she went out with her mother to run errands. The only time she didn’t wear them was in the shower-her mother had told her that they would turn her neck green!

Now Jenny had a very loving daddy. When Jenny went to bed, he would get up from his favorite chair every night and read Jenny her favorite story.

One night when he finished the story, he said, “Jenny, do you love me?”

“Oh yes, Daddy, you know I love you,” the little girl said.

“Well, then, give me your pearls.”

“Oh! Daddy, not my pearls!” Jenny said. “But you can have Rosie, my favorite doll. Remember her? You gave her to me last year for my birthday. And you can have her tea party outfit, too. Okay?”

“Oh no, darling, that’s okay.” Her father brushed her cheek with a kiss. “Good night, little one.”

A week later, her father once again asked Jenny after her story, “Do you love me?”

“Oh yes, Daddy, you know I love you.”

“Well, then, give me your pearls.”

“Oh, Daddy, not my pearls! But you can have Ribbons, my toy horse. Do you remember her? She’s my favorite. Her hair is so soft, and you can play with it and braid it and everything. You can have Ribbons if you want her, Daddy,” the little girl said to her father.

“No, that’s okay,” her father said and brushed her cheek again with a kiss. “God bless you, little one. Sweet dreams.”

Several days later, when Jenny’s father came in to read her a story, Jenny was sitting on her bed and her lip was trembling. “Here, Daddy,” she said, and held out her hand. She opened it and her beloved pearl necklace was inside. She let it slip into her father’s hand.

With one hand her father held the plastic pearls and with the other he pulled out of his pocket a blue velvet box. Inside of the box were real, genuine, beautiful pearls.

He had them all along. He was waiting for Jenny to give up the cheap stuff so he could give her the real thing.

 

Author unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
37 comments
  1. kiwiskan said:

    Yes, it’s pretty hard to let go of the tawdry stuff…

  2. awww ! up until the end I was unsure if I liked that story because I could not figure out why he kept putting her in a position to give up something she loved so much. I do see the point in this story though! We must give up/sacrifice things that impact us negatively in our life (even if we love them) to get better things. This story reminded me of when I was a little girl (and my name is Jenny also haha) and I would work so hard on my chores to be able to get a stuffed animal or certain toy that I had been wanting. When I finally got my prize it was literally as if I had won the lottery. Kids today get handed stuff right and left easily. I hardly ever see kids outside doing chores anymore. I just realized in this moment of typing this that those chores may be the reason I became such a hard worker and put so much into whatever it is that I do ! 🙂 I love stories like this because they bring about so many thoughts and emotions.

  3. Tapman said:

    Nice story but I can’t help feeling sorry for the little girl cause her daddy doesn’t understand the value of the pearls – I know I am missing the point but sometimes value is more than how much something costs. I imagine the little girl crying because her daddy guilted her into giving up something valuable to her. Beautiful as they are she can’t wear them like she did the others. I think too much sometimes

  4. Debbie said:

    Thank you! And God bless you for the stories!

  5. A lovely thought. You have to give up what you are holding onto to be able to take hold of something new.
    I wonder what I need to give up to receive more of His blessing

  6. Reblogged this on Christian Warrior and commented:
    A lovely thought. You have to give up what you are holding onto to be able to take hold of something new.
    I wonder what I have to give up to receive more of His blessing

  7. A lovely thought. You have to give up what you are holding onto to be able to take hold of something new. I wonder what I have to give up to receive more of Hid blessings?

  8. Thanks for sharing, Kenny T! Enjoy your week! 🙂

  9. Reminds me of a song called “Treasures.” The last line couple of lines are “then at last I comprehended, with my finite mind and dull, that God could not pour His riches into hands already full.”

    • 🙂 I think we all have cheap stuff we need to give up… We just need to take the next step in faith!!! Thanks for your comment!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  10. AR Neal said:

    I remember hearing this as part of a sermon many years ago…but I never knew who wrote it originally. Thank you for the reminder that our Heavenly Father is waiting for us to give up the cheap stuff too 🙂

  11. The full moon does look like a pearl. 🙂
    I knew a mother once who would ask her children for a bit of their candy. She only ever did take the tiny bit of a bite. Nothing more. So her children built up a trust that could not be broken. When ask for anything they knew there was a give and take and they would be listened to, respected and trusted.

    • You know there are to many of us who think children should be seen but not heard, I hate that statement, and I tried never to use this with my children, they are little people with a beautiful mind, this also builds trust.

      • Another statement that I am not fond of is:
        “Do as I say, not as I do.”
        Growing up with that – even sometimes in jest – I vowed never to use it with my own children.
        While I do believe we need to be parents first – I am happy that now I have a very good relationship with my grown children.

  12. Reblogged this on Glenda Mills.com and commented:
    O.K. I confess I’m taking a break from blogging right now while I work on a retreat ministry opportunity….so I’m reblogging this wonderful story I hope you will read.
    Lord, help us to let go of the fake in our lives, we can embrace the real treasures you have to offer us.

  13. Thanks for this beautiful story. I reblogged on my website. Too good not to share!!

  14. I will say it is not always easy to give up the old if you do not know about the new. Yet there is
    a lot of dogmas that are old plastic pears in religion, when are we going to give up the old plastic pearls.

    • I forgot I put it on Facebook, and I will re blog it on my site if I can find out how.

  15. This is such a nice story. I will always keep in mind that He has always something better for us and we should not get too attached to things or else we’ll never learn. 🙂

  16. Thanks for a reminder about this great story.
    a great picture of how our Heavenly Father has much greater things for us, we need to let go of the junk we value and hang on to.

  17. Beautiful. How often I have held onto the cheap stuff. The dialog here reminds me of Jesus and Peter, Peter do you love me? God always wants to give us more.

    • Oh yeah, I see what you are talking about with Peter and Jesus. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  18. Our stuff is nothing compared to His stuff and He wants us to have His stuff if we can let go of our stuff-nice story

  19. Lyn said:

    What a wonderful analogy of the difference between our stuff and HIS stuff. Thanks Kenny, another wonderful lesson.

  20. Even though her father didn’t tell her he had the real pearls…hmm, this speaks volumes. God bless.

Leave a Reply

