Dirt Roads

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
January 26, 2000

What’s mainly wrong with society today is that too many Dirt Roads have been paved.

There’s not a problem in America today, crime, drugs, education, divorce, delinquency that wouldn’t be remedied, if we just had more Dirt Roads, because Dirt Roads give character.

People that live at the end of Dirt Roads learn early on that life is a bumpy ride.

That it can jar you right down to your teeth sometimes, but it’s worth it, if at the end is home…a loving spouse, happy kids and a dog.

We wouldn’t have near the trouble with our educational system if our kids got their exercise walking a Dirt Road with other kids, from whom they learn how to get along.

There was less crime in our streets before they were paved.

Criminals didn’t walk two dusty miles to rob or rape, if they knew they’d be welcomed by 5 barking dogs and a double barrel shotgun.

And there were no drive by shootings.

Our values were better when our roads were worse!

People did not worship their cars more than their kids, and motorists were more courteous, they didn’t tailgate by riding the bumper or the guy in front would choke you with dust & bust your windshield with rocks.

Dirt Roads taught patience.

Dirt Roads were environmentally friendly, you didn’t hop in your car for a quart of milk you walked to the barn for your milk.

For your mail, you walked to the mail box.

What if it rained and the Dirt Road got washed out? That was the best part, then you stayed home and had some family time, roasted marshmallows and popped popcorn and pony rode on Daddy’s shoulders and learned how to make prettier quilts than anybody.

At the end of Dirt Roads, you soon learned that bad words tasted like soap.

Most paved roads lead to trouble, Dirt Roads more likely lead to a fishing creek or a swimming hole.

At the end of a Dirt Road, the only time we even locked our car was in August, because if we didn’t some neighbor would fill it with too much zucchini.

At the end of a Dirt Road, there was always extra springtime income, from when city dudes would get stuck, you’d have to hitch up a team and pull them out.

Usually you got a dollar…always you got a new friend…at the end of a Dirt Road!

-- By Paul Harvey
21 comments
  1. seeker said:

    The cartoon is a reflection of my mind today at work. Too funny.

  2. restingintheword said:

    I just sold my farm at the end of a dirt road…alot things said here are true – lol 🙂

  3. I love the way you put this into words. This really made me think. Very Inspiring:) I find this post to be very true although-I wasn’t living in this era; I’ve heard plenty of stores to contribute to what’s being said.
    Great Post!

  4. kiwiskan said:

    You don’t want any zucchini do you? Ours have gone mad. Reminds me of when we lived in a little mining village on the West Coast. We never locked our doors, and although many people there had very little, everything they had they shared with others…

  5. My Grandma lived on a farm at the end of a dirt road. It took us a long time to convince the 75 year old that living in the middle of nowhere by herself wasn’t a good idea. She did move to the city close to us eventually but this points out a large portion of the reason why it was so hard to leave and a large part of the reason why some of my best childhood memories were on that farm.

  6. MrTheKidd said:

    I used to ride my bike up and down a dirt road every summer growing up, and I soon learned not to fall off and how to make really long skid tracks!

  7. Gardengirl said:

    I’ve always loved Paul Harvey. I used to listen to him on WGN radio with my mom. We live close to dirt roads with a dirt road philosophy and we are probably a happier family than most. 🙂

  8. I always prefer the off-the-beaten-path roads over the Interstate, especially these days using the GPS. Your story is a great reminder that with God as our “GPS” we are in good hands no matter how bumpy the road gets! Many thanks! ( :.

  9. Harbin77 said:

    This was great and brought back memories of my child hood. Even though I was a city boy the streets I grew up on were dirt.

  10. How true! Patience and character…too hard to come by these days. Excellent!!! Have a great Friday and take care! 😀

  11. Now our children playing in the fresh air in the back yard building a Davy Crocket fort is a “dirt road.” Organized sports have even taken over the imagination and perseverence of playing outside, making a snow fort in the winter, cutting grass, raking leaves, and playing tag. Electronic games are the paved roads.
    And Wally, I understand.

  12. That is why I love the desert. I live on a dirt road that may have only one person a day drives down.

  13. I leave on a dirt road, and know the dust in my house gathers more dust. I would gladly give up those paved roads to stay home and love my little farm more, but until we gather more dust we are still taxed by the paved roads. I find the way home is quite rough but I won’t give it up, for I know the one love who brought me home loves more dusty roads. Love your post of the Dirt Roads.

  14. I loved reading this, as it reminded me too of the “good ol’ days”! Most of the roads here in Alaska were dirt and gravel when I first moved here. Life was slower and more peaceful then. People took time to stop and say hello. Now it seems everyone is in too much of a hurry zooming down the highways to stop and just visit anymore. I think I like the dirt roads better. Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

  15. gettlost said:

    I grew up on dirt roads… now 28 and I still Stear with the gas. 😉 dirt roads are fun… but now with 400hp all roads are fun 🙂

  16. I have to respectfully disagree with Mr. Harvey. I lived at the very end of a dirt road during my teen years. It made me wish for the city for many, many….many….reasons.

Leave a Reply

