Hearing God

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
January 22, 2008

The young man had lost his job and didn’t know which way to turn. So he went to see the old preacher.

Pacing about the preacher’s study, the young man ranted about his problem. Finally he clenched his fist and shouted, “I’ve begged God to say something to help me. Tell me, Preacher, why doesn’t God answer?”

The old preacher, who sat across the room, spoke something in reply — something so hushed it was indistinguishable. The young man stepped across the room. “What did you say?” he asked.

The preacher repeated himself, but again in a tone as soft as a whisper. So the young man moved closer until he was leaning on the preacher’s chair. “Sorry,” he said. “I still didn’t hear you.”

With their heads bent together, the old preacher spoke once more. “God sometimes whispers,” he said, “so we will move closer to hear Him.”

This time the young man heard and he understood. We all want God’s voice to thunder through the air with the answer to our problem. But God’s is the still, small voice. . .the gentle whisper.

Perhaps there’s a reason. Nothing draws human focus quite like a whisper. God’s whisper means I must stop my ranting and move close to Him, until my head is bent together with His. And then, as I listen, I will find my answer. Better still, I find myself closer to God.

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
30 comments
  1. Lyn said:

    I like this very, very much. Thanks Kenny, for reminding us we need to move closer to God or we may miss what He is saying to us.

  2. seeker said:

    Be still and hear the quite.

  3. Anonymous said:

    Great encouragement!

  4. Yet another beautiful story, I have only recently started to work albeit part time after sustaining three serious car accidents that led to severe spinal injuries and complex neck surgery. I live in constant pain and remember on one specific occasion the pain was so great that I almost passed out. It was as if I couldn’t think and see and this literally went on for hours. I wanted so much to pass out as I lay in bed looking at the cealing. Suddenly tears rolled down unchecked down my cheeks as I reflected on my childhood, which had been difficult and now my health had been taken from me. Nevertheless I reached down deep and said with all my strength “Lord Jesus Christ forgive me my sins, and thank you dearly for bringing me to this place where I should always have been, where you are forever on my mind, I love you with all my mind, heart, strength and soul my beloved King, Christ, Lord, and my God” . I have come to learn that suffering is a time where our faith can shine and bear testimony to whom we love. If we can do this with love, then people will know that this is only possible through grace, thus by the way we bear our burdens and still have the capacity to love we ” Glorify our Father in Heaven”

  5. **@But God’s is the still, small voice..the gentle whisper. Yes! Isn’t that the truth? That little nagging voice we hear, or can feeeeeel within our subconscious ..I’ve heard and felt it..ESPECIALLY when I’m thinking of doing or saying something I know is wrong. Real story..The other day I was going to say something(it was true…) that was about someone involved with the church , right? It was vile or obscene…but it wasn’t something about their BEST quality either! And right when I went to say IT; I choked on the water I was drinking. Bam! I had been having NO problem drinking the water prior to that..I made a note of it to my friend that I was speaking to..We laughed it off BUT it has made me since think twice about saying things, even if not vile, that don’t shed light on a person’s best qualities. Thank YOU for once again sharing something with us that can make me personally relate. I appreciate your daily efforts. Stay UPlifted & blessed

  6. @**@But God’s is the still, small voice..the gentle whisper. Yes! Isn’t that the truth? That little nagging voice we hear, or can feeeeeel within our subconscious ..I’ve heard and felt it..ESPECIALLY when I’m thinking of doing or saying something I know is wrong. Real story..The other day I was going to say something(it was true…) that was about someone involved with the church , right? It was vile or obscene…but it wasn’t something about their BEST quality either! And right when I went to say IT; I choked on the water I was drinking. Bam! I had been having NO problem drinking the water prior to that..I made a note of it to my friend that I was speaking to..We laughed it off BUT it has made me since think twice about saying things, even if not vile, that don’t shed light on a person’s best qualities. Thank YOU for once again sharing something with us that can make me personally relate. I appreciate your daily efforts. Stay UPlifted & blessed

    >Ooops! That should’ve been it was NOT vile or obscene…Must slow down with my typing Lol!

  7. vdalfred said:

    Absolutely beautiful message. I never though about it that way. Thanks for the inspiration.

  8. Moyosola said:

    Wow.. Great lesson!!

    Do keep the pen dancing!

    🙂

  9. Top of the coffee scale, Kenny T! Keep whispering, brother! 🙂

  10. Super like! I read about God’s voice being a whisper sometimes in a book that my pastor wrote years ago and this just reminded me that. Great short story. With all respect I want to post this on my blog!

    • Please use any of the material on this Blog. 🙂 If you happen to find any author’s that are marked as unknown on “Morning Story and Dilbert”, please let me know so I can give credit…. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  11. “As my personal relationship with God grew, I began to see prayer in a new and very different light. I began to experience prayer as a relational dialogue. I could talk to the God of the universe, and he talked to me! What an awesome privilege! He actually cared enough about me and my life to listen and respond.

    Note: His responses to me did not come in the form of audible words. Rather, his responses came in a multitude of other forms. Sometimes they would come as internal promptings and feelings that I knew were coming from the Holy Spirit. Sometimes they would come in the form of words jumping off a page at me as I read the Bible. Other times they would come in the form of a strong emotional response as I was listening to a worship song. Still other times, God chose to speak to me through people.
    Regardless of the form God’s response came in, each one was accompanied by a sensing or a knowing in the very fiber of my being that I knew that I knew that I knew that God was telling me something”. (excerpt from When Religion Isn’t Enough)
    Link: http://www.tatepublishing.com/bookstore/search.php?search=Mary+Detweiler

  12. There have been times when I thought God was ignoring me but, as you point out here, it was actually me expecting God to answer boldly and loudly but what my spiritual growth is teaching me every day, is that it’s me who needs to move closer to him to hear the answers. This article speaks perfectly to my life right now as I’m sure it does for others. Thank you for the reminder. Have a beautiful day.

  13. These posts are awesome…I love reading them every day. Keep ’em coming!

  14. 🙂 So very true! And, often when we cannot seem to find or hear God, He is the closest to us…standing right behind us waiting for us to turn around 😀 . Very nice! Thanks!!!! Take care! 😀 .

  15. ramblingsofabipolarwoman said:

    How very true, sometimes He does whisper just so we move closer to Him. And what joy and comfort there is when close to God. He can help us through anything! Thank you for sharing that! We need to remember this daily and sometimes we become too muddled by life and just need to be reminded….thank you.

  16. April K said:

    Reblogged this on Revolutionary Faith and commented:
    It’s been a crazy couple of weeks, and I haven’t had time to write a post. I promise I’ve got something in the works. In the meantime, enjoy this uplifting thought from Morning Story and Dilbert. And thanks for reading! 🙂

      • This is so insightful. There is so much noise in this world and it drowns out God’s whisper. We have to slow down and seek His face in quietness, “Be still and know that I am God.”

        • Thanks Dorothy. It’s very true what you write – and it’s sometimes hard to really “be still”!

  17. Shekea said:

    This is so good! Thank you for the reminder.

  18. Ah. I love this. How many times, as a teacher and/or parent, I lowered my voice to get the kids’ attention–but this picture is so dear, so warm. He lowers His voice so we’ll draw closer to Him. Love it.

Leave a Reply

