A Date With Mom

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
January 20, 1998

After 21 years of marriage, my wife wanted me to take another woman out to dinner and a movie. She said, “I love you, but I know this other woman loves you and would love to spend some time with you.”

The other woman that my wife wanted me to visit was my MOTHER, who has been a widow for 19 years, but the demands of my work and my three children had made it possible to visit her only occasionally. That night I called to invite her to go out for dinner and a movie. “What’s wrong, are you well?” she asked.

My mother is the type of woman who suspects that a late night call or a surprise invitation is a sign of bad news. “I thought that it would be pleasant to spend some time with you,” I responded. “Just the two of us.” She thought about it for a moment, and then said, “I would like that very much.”

That Friday after work, as I drove over to pick her up I was a bit nervous. When I arrived at her house, I noticed that she, too, seemed to be nervous about our date. She waited in the door with her coat on. She had curled her hair and was wearing the dress that she had worn to celebrate her last wedding anniversary. She smiled from a face that was as radiant as an angel’s. “I told my friends that I was going to go out with my son, and they were impressed, “she said, as she got into the car. “They can’t wait to hear about our meeting.”

We went to a restaurant that, although not elegant, was very nice and cozy. My mother took my arm as if she were the First Lady. After we sat down, I had to read the menu. Her eyes could only read large print. Half way through the entries, I lifted my eyes and saw Mom sitting there staring at me. A nostalgic smile was on her lips. “It was I who used to have to read the menu when you were small,” she said. “Then it’s time that you relax and let me return the favor,” I responded. During the dinner, we had an agreeable conversation – nothing extraordinary but catching up on recent events of each other’s life. We talked so much that we missed the movie. As we arrived at her house later, she said, “I’ll go out with you again, but only if you let me invite you.” I agreed.

“How was your dinner date?” asked my wife when I got home. “Very nice. Much more so than I could have imagined,” I answered.

A few days later, my mother died of a massive heart attack. It happened so suddenly that I didn’t have a chance to do anything for her. Some time later, I received an envelope with a copy of a restaurant receipt from the same place mother and I had dined. An attached note said: “I paid this bill in advance. I wasn’t sure that I could be there; but nevertheless, I paid for two plates – one for you and the other for your wife. You will never know what that night meant for me. I love you, son.”

At that moment, I understood the importance of saying in time: “I LOVE YOU” and to give our loved ones the time that they deserve. Nothing in life is more important than your family. Give them the time they deserve, because these things cannot be put off till “some other time.”

Author unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
27 comments
  1. seeker said:

    So sad. It reminded me of my Mother. Was supposed to visit her but life got in the way. Then she died of a massive heart attack.

    Like

  2. What a way to start my Monday morning! Great coffee and an even better post! Thanks, Kenny T! Have a great week. 🙂

    Like

    • I know what you mean…. I found this story yesterday and I’m glad my wife and son were not in the room!!! I got choked up trying to get though it!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      Like

  3. ljoneil said:

    Thank you for sharing this. I shared on this my fb…hoping that my boys, that I used to take out on “dates”, will remember

    Like

  4. I’ve read this before, but it still made me cry. Such a beautiful story. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  5. My mother enjoyed eating in a restaurant. She never wanted to move out of the town where she lived for 50+ years. My son and his wife took a trip from New York to central Wisconsin to visit her. They took her out to eat and she talked about it for years! When my daughters took a similar trip with their children, they took her shopping and to eat at a modest restaurant too. Later, Mom was forced to live with me or go to a facility with 24 hour care. She chose me. I took her to a local steak house about once a month and she insisted on paying the bill. She would tell me what she wanted from the buffet line and I’d get her plate for her. Often people would mention how sweet is was that I did that. I would tell them, “Do it for your mother the next chance you get. It will a precious time.” I hope that they did.

    Like

    • This is a wonderful story and you have a great memory of your Mom!!!! Oh, and one more thing, tell Hank I said hello and no more biting!!! LOL Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      Like

  6. Dear readers:
    If you have never experience some thing as beautiful as this you should try it. I shared it on FACEBOOK>

    Like

  7. You brought a tear to my eye. I sure do miss my parents. Mom had Alzheimer’s so she left a long time before her body did. Dad was unexpected, it is hard not to have them to here. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Hey Nancy, Thanks you for that comment….. I feel like I know your Mom and Dad. you have shared so much of their life in your Blog… My heart goes out to you!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      Like

  8. Thank you so much for the reminder to stay connected to those closest to us. My own dear mother will be 91 in just a few weeks and I extremely blessed to have her my life.

    Like

  9. wmac620 said:

    I’m sitting on the other end of things – I have two sons, one is married and the other will be soon. I also have a daughter and we have loads of time together. My husband and I spend lots of time with our sons too, but I really miss having one on one time with them. Thanks so much for the reminder to continue to work to make it happen – it’s all about people, isn’t it?

    Like

  10. I lost my beloved mother in law expectantly and it changed much of my perspective. I don’t hesitate in sharing words of encouragement because stories life this happen every day. Thank you!

    Like

  11. My mother went home to heaven in July. Wish I could have just a little more time with her.

    Like

  12. Lyn said:

    And here’s me without a coffee or a Kleenex! My Mum died 25 years ago and there are some days, even now, that I’ll see something or read something and think, “Oh I must tell Mum about that.” I would so love to be able to take her out to dinner.

    Like

  13. It’s so beautiful. And a really good reminder. How often we take people around us for granted. Will really do make some time with family. Thank you! As I was hesitating about going back for Chinese New Year and spend time with my family. But I’m very sure now I will go back 🙂

    Like

    • That’s wonderful, “going back for Chinese New Year and spend time with my family.” Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      Like

Leave a Reply

