Before You Can Dry Another’s Tears – You Too Must Weep!

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
December 27, 2007

Let me not live a life that’s free,
From “THE THINGS” that draw me close to THEE-

For how can I ever hope to heal,
The wounds of others, I do not feel?

If my eyes are dry and I never weep,
How do I know, when the hurt is deep?

If my heart is cold and it never bleeds,
How can I tell, what my sister needs?

For when my ears are deaf to the beggar’s plea,
And we close our eyes and refuse to see.

And we steel our hearts and harden our mind,
And we count it a weakness, whenever we’re kind,

We are no longer following THE FATHER’S WAY,
Or seeking His guidance from day to day.

For, without “crosses to carry” and “burdens to bear,”
We dance through a life that is frothy and “fair”.

And “chasing the rainbow” we have no desire,
For “roads that are rough” and “realms that are Higher”.

So spare me no heartache or sorrow, dear Lord,
For the heart that is hurt, reaps the richest reward.

And God enters the heart that is broken with sorrow,
As He opens the door to a BRIGHTER TOMORROW.

For only through tears can we recognize,
The suffering that lies in another’s eyes.

Author - Helen Steiner Rice
15 comments
  1. Reblogged this on bernicium and commented:
    What uncanny timing; I think I needed to read this… I think it answers a prayer/question.

    Like

  2. nuvofelt said:

    Reblogged this on Food for Thought and commented:
    Well worth a read – and meditation too. I don’t know who wrote it but it’ms inspired

    Like

  3. This is a lot like her poem–my favorite of all poems–called, “The Way to God.” 😀 I love them both. Thanks, Kenny! Have a great day! 🙂

    Like

  4. "Working for Christ" said:

    Thanks, Kenny T! What a beautiful perspective. 🙂

    Like

  5. What a beautiful poem. Its words ring true an penetrate into the depths of ones heart and stir one’s soul.
    God bless you

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on RePrEsSeD ExPrEsSiOnS and commented:
    When we are at our lowest, this poem reminds us what we really gain from these experiences. Empathy comes from experience plus a loving heart.

    Like

  7. Oooooh, I love this. I am certainly reblogging this, it is absolutely wonderful.

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on His Greatest Mercy and commented:
    Another inspirational life message by morningstoryanddilbert @ morningstoryanddilbert.wordpress.com

    Like

  9. Oh my gosh. This is so beautiful. I am sending it to several people who I think would appreciate it. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

