Grocery List

Louise Redden, a poorly dressed lady with a look of defeat on her face, walked into a grocery store.

She approached the owner of the store in a most humble manner and asked if he would let her charge a few groceries.

She softly explained that her husband was very ill and unable to work, they had seven children and they needed food.

John Longhouse, the grocer, scoffed at her and requested that she leave his store at once.

Visualizing the family needs, she said: ‘Please, sir! I will bring you the money just as soon as I can.’

John told her he could not give her credit, since she did not have a charge account at his store.

Standing beside the counter was a customer who overheard the conversation between the two The customer walked forward and told the grocer that he would stand good for whatever she needed for her family. The grocer said in a very reluctant voice, ‘Do you have a grocery list?’

Louise replied, ‘Yes sir.’ ‘O.K’ he said, ‘put your grocery list on the scales and whatever your grocery list weighs, I will give you that amount in groceries.’

Louise hesitated a moment with a bowed head, then she reached into her purse and took out a piece of paper and scribbled something on it. She then laid the piece of paper on the scale carefully with her head still bowed.

The eyes of the grocer and the customer showed amazement when the scales went down and stayed down.

The grocer, staring at the scales, turned slowly to the customer and said begrudgingly, ‘I can’t believe it.’

The customer smiled and the grocer started putting the groceries on the other side of the scales. The scale did not balance so he continued to put more and more groceries on them until the scales would hold no more.

The grocer stood there in utter disgust. Finally, he grabbed the piece of paper from the scales and looked at it with greater amazement.

It was not a grocery list, it was a prayer, which said:

‘Dear Lord, you know my needs and I am leaving this in your hands.’

The grocer gave her the groceries that she had gathered and stood in stunned silence.

Louise thanked him and left the store. The other customer handed a fifty-dollar bill to the grocer and said; ‘It was worth every penny of it. Only God Knows how much a prayer weighs.’

The original author is Stephanie 
The original version can be read at this Link below: 

http://learning2bestill.com/2012/02/14/the-grocery-list-prayer/


21 comments
  1. Thank you for adding beauty and hope to my morning. Peace be with you — Kelly

    Like

  2. Just WOW – thanks for allowing the hand of God to be laid on my heart for the beginning of a new day! Grace & peace, -jody

    Like

  3. This past Monday one of my facebook friends who works a check out lane in a Food City grocery store said she had a pay it forward experience. When a fellow checked out, he told her he wanted to buy the next person behind his cart of goods. It gets better. The person behind him, did the same for the person behind him. Angie has worked in this store for several years and never witnessed it before. I had a person in the car ahead of me pay for my order at a McDonalds. Of course, I get the point of this: who can place value on prayer. Only God.

    Like

  4. BEAUTIFUL! Being the wife of someone who is so ill and the fact that for the first time we will have to go on public assistance because of his illness, this story means so much.

    Like

  5. Thanks for the beautiful story and reminder, only God knows the weight of a prayer.

    Like

  6. kiran bella said:

    Hey kenny, thank you so much for this beautiful story, it really gave me a hope. And also reminding us how importent our prayes are to God. A simple and faithful prayer. Thank you, thank you soooooooooo much. i cant express how happy i am after reading this post. may god bless u kenny and be a blessing to others.

    Like

  7. It's a matter of prayer said:

    Not too long ago I step up to pay an older ladies groceries. I didn’t see how much she had. I gladly paid the $90 although I couldn’t help but be surprised. I can still hear her praising God as she left the store. We really don’t know some people are going through at times. Great story. I have also witnesses three or four customers in live step to pay for someone.

    Like

  8. admin said:

    Prayer is more powerful than we can imagine. God is attentive to our cries. Thank yoou for sharing.

    Like

    • Hey Stephanie!!! Thank you so much for responding as the original author. I updated the Post with your name and the link you gave to your Blog site. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

      Like

      • Thanks Kenny. I know there are a lot of differences between the 2… so I shouldn’t have taken credit as the author of the one you posted. However, it is so much like mine… that was my first impression.
        Be blessed
        Stephanie

        Like

  9. George Hayward said:

    Just read three posts in a row and now must spend some time in deep contemplation! Thanks for posting these, they’re so powerful. Also, the cartoon at the top is one of my favorites!

    Like

  10. I love this story and posted in in my last blog! I linked it straight to your blog though of course 🙂 I’m following you now. Thank you for checking out my page muffinsandmocha.com ! look forward to future posts

    Like

  11. I am no longer positive the place you’re getting your information, however great topic. I must spend some time finding out much more or understanding more. Thank you for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

    Like

Leave a Reply

