The Magic of Three Days

 

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert – May 24, 1996

It was a beautiful spring day, and a sense of peace stayed with me as I left the cathedral on Easter Monday morning. I paused for a moment on top of the steps leading to the avenue, now crowded with people rushing to their jobs. Sitting in her usual place, inside a small archway, was the old flower lady. At her feet, corsages and boutonnieres were parading on top of a spread-open newspaper.

The flower lady was smiling, her wrinkled old face alive with some inner joy. I started down the stairs – then on an impulse, I turned and picked out a flower.

As I put it in my lapel, I said, “You look happy.”

“Why not?’ she answered. “Everything is good.”

She was dressed so shabbily and seemed so very old that her reply startled me. “You’ve been sitting here for many years now, haven’t you? And always smiling. You wear your troubles well.”

“You can’t reach my age and not have troubles,” she replied, “only it’s like Jesus and Good Friday…” She paused for a moment.

“Yes?” I prompted

“Well, when Jesus was crucified on Good Friday, that was the worst day for the whole world. When I get troubles I remember that, and then I think of what happened only three days later – Easter – our Lord arose from the dead. So when things go wrong, I’ve learned to wait three days… and somehow everything gets much better.”

She smiled good-bye, but her words still follow me whenever I think I have troubles… “Give God a chance to help. Wait three days.”

By Patt Barnes
23 comments
    • Hey Kathie, thanks for the comment and I’m glad you enjoyed it!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  1. Great lesson for patience…. Very nice. Take care!

    • Thank you so much for visiting the Morning Story and Dilbert!!! I saw your post on your health. I’m keeping you in my prayers. Take Care, God Bless, and seek His perfect Peace 🙂 Kenny T

      • Thank you so much! I will be here for as long as He allows and hopefully it will be a little bit longer 😀 .

    • Hey Liz, Three day’s!!! I liked this one too. I can just see this little lady sitting there with such Peace in her spirit and unselfishly sharing it with anybody who takes time to talk with her. It’s just an amazing story. I call it “Dilbert Material”. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  2. Will and Eko said:

    Definitely one of my favorite comics you’ve posted – classic!

  3. Waiting three days – I like it. Usually a sleep is enough for me to get everything back in its sensible proportion.

    • I agree, sometimes a new day can bring a fresh perspective….. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  4. Debbie said:

    Loved this and will pass it on! Thank you and God bless!

  5. Rainebug said:

    I find myself looking forward to your posts everyday! Thank you 🙂

  6. love that idea of three days. god moves. always.

  7. Kim said:

    Loved this!…..you really do have a grab collection of inspirational pieces on your blog………glad my post “Stressed? In Turmoil?- There is stillness in God” was a blessing to you…………..all the best!…….Kim

  8. lilyboat said:

    what a great wisdom from the old woman! This is a very powerful post.

  9. After being so focused on the “now”, the lack of patience and need for instant gratification for all our…my life, this is a great slap in the face. Great post as always, you are a true blessing to us.

    • Hey, and thank you for your comment!!! I hope you have a great weekend…. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  10. snowgood said:

    Brilliant! I think when all is said and done it’s not going to be the great preachers that folk remember, but the little old ladies. Shortly after I was converted I went to an evening service in Redruth Baptist. I can’t remember a single thing from the sermon, but a little old lady in her eighties was introduced to me (she was delighted to learn I just become a Christian). When she heard “my story” she said always remember Peter, “when he looked at Jesus all was well and he could walk on water. When he looked around at the sea he started to sink”. Three cheers for these unsung heroes.

  11. My word!!! You know, year in year out, we celebrate Good Friday/Easter. For some crazy reason, the sun shines the hottest in my country on that day. Lol. However, I have never in my life saw things as such – interesting – “So when things go wrong, I’ve learned to wait three days… and somehow everything gets much better.” I absolutely LOVE this, totally gonna be applying this to my life now! Lol. Kenny, another GREATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT entry!

Leave a Reply

