Daddy’s Girl

Morning Story and Dilbert

Vintage Dilbert
January 21, 1999

 

Kleenex Alert

Her hair up in a pony tail,
her favorite dress tied with a bow.
Today was Daddy’s Day at school,
and she couldn’t wait to go.

But her mommy tried to tell her,
that she probably should stay home.
Why the kids might not understand,
if she went to school alone.

But she was not afraid;
she knew just what to say.
What to tell her classmates,
on the Daddy’s Day.

But still her mommy worried,
for her to face this day alone.
And that was why once again,
she tried to keep her daughter home.

But the little girl went to school,
eager to tell them all.
About a dad she never sees,
a dad who never calls.

There were daddies along the wall in back
for everyone to meet.
Children squirming impatiently,
anxious in their seats.

One by one the teacher called,
a student from the class.
To introduce their daddy
as seconds slowly passed.

At last the teacher called her name,
every child turned to stare.
Each of them were searching,
for a man who wasn’t there.

“Where’s her daddy at?”
she heard a boy call out.
“She probably doesn’t have one,”
another student dared to shout.

And from somewhere near the back,
she heard a daddy say.
“Looks like another deadbeat dad,
too busy to waste his day.”

The words did not offend her,
as she smiled at her friends.
And looked back at her teacher,
who told her to begin.

And with hands behind her back,
slowly she began to speak.
And out from the mouth of a child,
came words incredibly unique.

“My Daddy couldn’t be here,
because he lives so far away.
But I know he wishes he could,
be with me on this day.”

“And though you cannot meet him,
I wanted you to know.
All about my Daddy,
And how much he loves me so.”

“He loved to tell me stories,
he taught me to ride my bike.
He surprised me with pink roses
and taught me to fly a kite.”

“We used to share fudge sundaes,
and ice cream in a cone.
And though you cannot see him,
I’m not standing here alone.”

“Cause my Daddy’s always with me,
even though we are far apart.
I know because he told me,
he’ll forever be here in my heart.”

With that her little hand reached up,
and lay across her chest.
Feeling her own heartbeat,
beneath her favorite dress.

And from some where in the crowd of dads,
her mother stood in tears.
Proudly watching her daughter,
who was wise beyond her years

For she stood up for the love,
of a man not in her life.
Doing what was best for her,
doing what was right.

And when she dropped her hand back down,
staring straight into the crowd.
She finished with a voice so soft,
but its message clear and loud.

“I love my Daddy very much,
he’s my shining star.
And he’d be here if he could,
but heavens much to far.”

“Sometimes when I close my eyes,
it’s like he never went away.”
And then she closed her eyes,
and she saw him there that day.

And to her mother’s amazement,
she witnessed with surprise.
A room full of Daddies and Children,
all starting to close their eyes.

Who knows what they saw before them,
who knows what they felt inside.
Perhaps for merely a second,
they saw him at her side.

“I know you’re with me Daddy,”
to the silence she called out.
And what happened next made believers,
of those once filled with doubt.

Not one in that room could explain it,
for each of their eyes had been closed.
But there placed on her desk,
was a beautiful pink rose.

And a child was blessed, if only for a moment,
by the love of her shining bright star.
And given the gift of believing that,
Heaven is never too far.

Dedicated to all children that have lost their Daddy or Mommy. Always remember they will be in your hearts.

Author Unknown - Please comment if you know the author
 so credit can be given
9 comments
  1. mrdodd said:

    There’s a reason I like to save my blog reading for early Saturday mornings when I’m alone. This is one of them.

  2. Welling up on the train to work is not cool. But there was a warning. Powerful stuff.

    • This one is what I call Dilbert material…. Thanks for stopping by!!!

      Take Care and God Bless :-) Kenny T

  3. Reblogged this on Heavy Metal Cowboy and commented:
    I am on vacation this week. So instead of writing my own blog, I chose to reblog one from a source I really enjoy reading when I get the opportunity. This is the latest.

  4. I have read this before and it ALWAYS makes me cry………………Thanks for sharing!

  5. Tina D Lewis shared John Edward’s photo . Wonderfilled [image: Saw this on Facebook and thought it has a great message...worth the read and definitely the share! A little girl had been shopping with her Mom in Wal-Mart. She must have been 6 years old, this beautiful red haired, freckle faced image of innocence. It was pouring outside. The kind of rain that gushes over the top of rain gutters, so much in a hurry to hit the earth it has no time to flow down the spout.. We all stood there, under the awning, just inside the door of the Wal-Mart. We waited, some patiently, others irritated because nature messed up their hurried day. I am always mesmerized by rainfall. I got lost in the sound and sight of the heavens washing away the dirt and dust of the world. Memories of running, splashing so carefree as a child came pouring in as a welcome reprieve from the worries of my day. Her little voice was so sweet as it broke the hypnotic trance we were all caught in, 'Mom let's run through the rain,' She said. 'What?' Mom asked. 'Let's run through the rain!' She repeated. 'No, honey. We'll wait until it slows down a bit,' Mom replied. This young child waited a minute and repeated: 'Mom, let's run through the rain..' 'We'll get soaked if we do,' Mom said. 'No, we won't, Mom. That's not what you said this morning,' the young girl said as she tugged at her Mom's arm. 'This morning? When did I say we could run through the rain and not get wet?' 'Don't you remember? When you were talking to Daddy about his cancer, you said, ' If God can get us through this, He can get us through anything! ' ' The entire crowd stopped dead silent.. I swear you couldn't hear anything but the rain.. We all stood silently. No one left. Mom paused and thought for a moment about what she would say. Now some would laugh it off and scold her for being silly. Some might even ignore what was said. But this was a moment of affirmation in a young child's life. A time when innocent trust can be nurtured so that it will bloom into faith. 'Honey, you are absolutely right. Let's run through the rain. If GOD let's us get wet, well maybe we just need washing,' Mom said. Then off they ran. We all stood watching, smiling and laughing as they darted past the cars and yes, through the puddles. They got soaked. They were followed by a few who screamed and laughed like children all the way to their cars. And yes, I did. I ran. I got wet. I needed washing. Circumstances or people can take away your material possessions, they can take away your money, and they can take away your health. But no one can ever take away your precious memories...So, don't forget to make time and take the opportunities to make memories every day. I HOPE YOU STILL TAKE THE TIME TO RUN THROUGH THE RAIN. If you've read this all and it's touched you... share it.] Saw this on Facebook and thought it has a great message…worth the read and definitely the share! A little girl had been shopping with her Mom in Wal-Mart. She must have been 6 years old, this beautiful red haired, freckle faced image of innocence. It was pouring outside. The kind of rain that gushes over the top of rain gutters, so much in a hurry to hit the earth it has no time to flow down the spout.. We all stood there, under the awning, just inside the door of the Wal-Mart. We waited, some patiently, others irritated because nature messed up their hurried day. I am always mesmerized by rainfall. I got lost in the sound and sight of the heavens washing away the dirt and dust of the world. Memories of running, splashing so carefree as a child came pouring in as a welcome reprieve from the worries of my day. Her little voice was so sweet as it broke the hypnotic trance we were all caught in, ‘Mom let’s run through the rain,’ She said. ‘What?’ Mom asked. ‘Let’s run through the rain!’ She repeated. ‘No, honey. We’ll wait until it slows down a bit,’ Mom replied. This young child waited a minute and repeated: ‘Mom, let’s run through the rain..’ ‘We’ll get soaked if we do,’ Mom said. ‘No, we won’t, Mom. That’s not what you said this morning,’ the young girl said as she tugged at her Mom’s arm. ‘This morning? When did I say we could run through the rain and not get wet?’ ‘Don’t you remember? When you were talking to Daddy about his cancer, you said, ‘ If God can get us through this, He can get us through anything! ‘ ‘ The entire crowd stopped dead silent.. I swear you couldn’t hear anything but the rain.. We all stood silently. No one left. Mom paused and thought for a moment about what she would say. Now some would laugh it off and scold her for being silly. Some might even ignore what was said. But this was a moment of affirmation in a young child’s life. A time when innocent trust can be nurtured so that it will bloom into faith. ‘Honey, you are absolutely right. Let’s run through the rain. If GOD let’s us get wet, well maybe we just need washing,’ Mom said. Then off they ran. We all stood watching, smiling and laughing as they darted past the cars and yes, through the puddles. They got soaked. They were followed by a few who screamed and laughed like children all the way to their cars. And yes, I did. I ran. I got wet. I needed washing. Circumstances or people can take away your material possessions, they can take away your money, and they can take away your health. But no one can ever take away your precious memories…So, don’t forget to make time and take the opportunities to make memories every day. I HOPE YOU STILL TAKE THE TIME TO RUN THROUGH THE RAIN. If you’ve read this all and it’s touched you… share it.

  6. Kenny! ….

    A really great post…an emotional day…but a great post! Blessings… – A :)

  7. I had read this before and it made me cry and now again I cry….lovely story!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,287 other followers

